Best Baked Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2003
Wow, too much salt!!! 57% of the daily allowance is entirely too much for just one dish. The salty taste drowns out other more desireable flavors. Use celery seed, instead of celery salt, garlic powder instead of garlic salt and eliminate the soy sauce. There is plenty to salt in the stuffing mix and sour cream to accomadate the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
298 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
My husband and I both enjoyed the juicy-ness of the chicken as well as the unique taste of the sour cream coating blended with the stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2003
Husband is a VERY picky chicken eater and I am constantly looking for ways to prepare chicken that he will like-but he LOVED this recipe. A definate redo! I used boneless breasts and thighs since he likes white and I like dark. Was scrumptous and easy to prepare. Thanks Emily
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2003
excellent mix for dipping prior to rolling in crushed stuffing mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMY73ANDERSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
My kids absolutely loved this recipe! I used only thighs, and they gobbled them up and asked me to make it the next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroeville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2003
Great recipe! Tasty and simple to prepare...good in a pinch since the ingredients are usually on hand. I made four servings instead of eight and did substitute 1/2 tsp garlic powder for the garlic salt. My husband and toddler son also enjoyed this dish. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2003
My family enjoyed this recipe. I did make a few changes that lowered the sodium content. I did not use either celery salt or garlic salt - I substituted a non-salt poultry season. Also, I let the chicken sit in the sour cream mixture for several hours. Finally, instead of stuffing mix I crushed garlic flavored croutons. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2003
Holy Cow --- the amount of salt in this recipe is astounding! NO ONE needs this much salt at any one seating! There are many ways to substitute the amount of salt in this recipe without losing any of the flavor. We always use fresh garlic instead of garlic SALT, using low-sodium soy sauce is also a good idea. Celery SALT isn't needed, either. Using celery seed actually gives the chicken a fresher taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
I can't believe how easy and delicious this is! The chicken came out tender on the inside, crispy on the outside. I omitted the soy sauce and replaced the garlic salt with garlic powder -- seemed to work out well, although next time I will keep the garlic salt because the chicken could've used a bit more savoriness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2003
I made some substitutions in this recipe because I didn't have all the ingredients available but I wasn't impressed. It didn't cook in the stated time and it was bland and not at all crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Crispy and Tender Baked Chicken Thighs

See how to roast chicken until crispy on the outside and juicy on the inside.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Baked Apricot Chicken

Quick and easy baked chicken recipe with only four ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States