Best Baked Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2003
Wow, too much salt!!! 57% of the daily allowance is entirely too much for just one dish. The salty taste drowns out other more desireable flavors. Use celery seed, instead of celery salt, garlic powder instead of garlic salt and eliminate the soy sauce. There is plenty to salt in the stuffing mix and sour cream to accomadate the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
292 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
My husband and I both enjoyed the juicy-ness of the chicken as well as the unique taste of the sour cream coating blended with the stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2003
Husband is a VERY picky chicken eater and I am constantly looking for ways to prepare chicken that he will like-but he LOVED this recipe. A definate redo! I used boneless breasts and thighs since he likes white and I like dark. Was scrumptous and easy to prepare. Thanks Emily
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2003
excellent mix for dipping prior to rolling in crushed stuffing mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMY73ANDERSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
My kids absolutely loved this recipe! I used only thighs, and they gobbled them up and asked me to make it the next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroeville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2003
Great recipe! Tasty and simple to prepare...good in a pinch since the ingredients are usually on hand. I made four servings instead of eight and did substitute 1/2 tsp garlic powder for the garlic salt. My husband and toddler son also enjoyed this dish. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2003
My family enjoyed this recipe. I did make a few changes that lowered the sodium content. I did not use either celery salt or garlic salt - I substituted a non-salt poultry season. Also, I let the chicken sit in the sour cream mixture for several hours. Finally, instead of stuffing mix I crushed garlic flavored croutons. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2003
Holy Cow --- the amount of salt in this recipe is astounding! NO ONE needs this much salt at any one seating! There are many ways to substitute the amount of salt in this recipe without losing any of the flavor. We always use fresh garlic instead of garlic SALT, using low-sodium soy sauce is also a good idea. Celery SALT isn't needed, either. Using celery seed actually gives the chicken a fresher taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
I can't believe how easy and delicious this is! The chicken came out tender on the inside, crispy on the outside. I omitted the soy sauce and replaced the garlic salt with garlic powder -- seemed to work out well, although next time I will keep the garlic salt because the chicken could've used a bit more savoriness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2003
I made some substitutions in this recipe because I didn't have all the ingredients available but I wasn't impressed. It didn't cook in the stated time and it was bland and not at all crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States