Best Baconless Broccoli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I HAVE MADE THIS RECIPE SEVERAL TIMES AND HUBBIE AND I LOVE IT! I HAD BALSAMIC VINEGAR AND USED THAT. TOASTED SUNFLOWER SEEDS AND PUMPKIN SEEDS FOR THE NUT ADDITION. I DOUBLED THE DRESSING IT ADDED MORE FLAVOR AND LESS DRYNESS. OTHERWISE THE RECIPE WAS AS WRITTEN. I THINK READING THE REVIEWS FIRST BEFORE MAKING THE RECIPE ON ALL SITES HELPS TO GET THE TRUE TASTE AND FEELING OF THE RECIPE GIVEN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yummymummy
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Mmm! Lazier and healthier adaptations. I didn't bother steaming broccoli. For the dressing I swapped yogurt for mayo and agave syrup for sugar. Topped with a bit of feta and enjoyed two helpings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I have spent the majority of my life as a vegetarian and don't usually see any meat dishes that I crave, except for Brocolli Salad. I LOVE brocolli and was very happy to find this vegetarian version of it. This recipe works great as listed, but since I have made it several times, I have tried changing it up. One thing I do is roast the pecans before adding them to the salad and it really improves an already fantastic dish. Also, I have been reading a lot about the benefits of chia seeds, so I add them in this dish as well and you really can't taste them, but I like knowing it ups the nutritional value of the salad. Most recently, I used Balsalmic vinegar rather than raspberry and there was a subtle difference. The Balsalmic felt a little more grown up, but I tend to feel that way about Balsalmic vs. other vinegars, so I could just be biased. Great salad even without any additional modifications, though. Thanks so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
My usual Broccoli Salad uses bacon so this was a departure for us. I skipped the flax seeds as they tend to get gummy if not eaten immediately and I made this to have for lunches during the week so that was an issue for us. BUT...we did really like this salad which is kind of tart with the raspberry vinegar. We loved the addition of the pepitas (pumpkin seeds). A nice change from the ordinary and a little more healthy than the bacon-y version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
The flax seeds put me off, to me they are for cereal and baking! I added sunflower and sesame seeds, and also slivered almonds...lots of crunch. Also have used olive oil instead of mayo which is tasty as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Love, love, love this idea!!! I could not find Raspberry Vinegar. I decided on "Smucker's Simply FRUIT Seedless Blackberry", no flax seed and dried cherries. I did not use the sugar or vinegar. I did use the mayonaise. WOW!!!! My family went on and on about this dish and I fell in love as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
This was ok. I'm not a big broccoli fan myself, so I put extra cranberries. Also, instead of Mayo, I put Miracle Wip, to add to the taste of Vinegar. Overall, a good, healthy salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This is really good if you just steam the broccoli very, very briefly (not till it's soft). My family loved it last Thanksgiving and asked me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
It was okay. If you intend on saving the leftovers do not use flax seeds because they make the dressing turn phlemmy after a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

This tasty salad is perfect for potlucks and buffets.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States