Best BBQ Rub in Texas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
This rub was great. I used it on a brisket before smoking it. Wonderful flavor! I only made 1/4 of this recipe, coated a 10 lb brisket and have plenty left over
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
I have tried many reciepts from this site and by far this had to be the only one I didn't like. It was way to salty. I put it on a 5lb brisket and cooked it all night. Smelled wonderful. Took it out and cut a piece off and "wow" it was so salty it made my teeth hurt. I will not be using this one anytime in the future, but thanks for the reciept anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
On it's own, it seems quite a bit sweeter than I am used to. I did add several big dashes of hot sauce. I was almost 1/2c short on the maple syrup, so put the rest in as honey, full disclosure, but next time I will try cutting the amount of brown sugar. I am waiting to see what my brisket tastes like with the sauce - I may change my mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Keri
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
UPDATE - AUGUST 8, 2012: I've now used this rub on chicken a couple times and the flavor is amazing! I'm leaving my rating at four stars because it would still be too salty if I had used garlic salt instead of granulated garlic, but I'll be keeping a batch of this in my spice cabinet at all times from now on! **** July 2, 2012: This was a pretty good rub, but I'm glad I didn't have garlic salt available and used granulated garlic instead or it would have been way too salty. I cut the recipe down to 15 servings and weighed out 4 ounces of seasoned salt on my digital kitchen scale. I used this rub on a pork loin roast and the flavor was really good. I can't wait to try it on some baby back ribs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
My wife and I have been trying a bunch of new things on the grill and this is our top choice as of yet! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Thsi is way salty. We used it on some ribs and it was way way way to salty. I am a lover of salt, I salt EVERYTHING and this even made me pucker a little. Also this make a whole bunch. We didn't use it all and was saving the rest for later...after some adjustment of more sugar, pepper and some onion powder it is now edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBYLN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I used this on a pork roast and put it on the rotisserie. Yummy! Very good flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
Great stuff! Just the right amount of spices to keep my friends wondering how I got this to taste so good! Should I tell them????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Noble, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
I hate to disagree with so many people, but I made this mix because of all the positive reviews and was so disapointed! I was smoking a beef brisket, a pork roast, and some chicken and used this mix on all three. WAAAAAAAAY too salty!!! I am not watching my salt intake, or on a salt free diet but I felt like Lot's wife after eating this meat seasoned with this rub. Recipe calls for 16 ounces of salt seasoning (I used Lawreys) and truly believe if I had cut that in half, it would still be way too salty. We didn't even taste any of the other seasonings. so sorry to give a negative review but I fixed it according to measurements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2006
This is EXCELLENT! I put it on the steaks 4 hours before they were cooked...I got rave reviews! Everyone thought it was store-bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic BBQ Ribs

Discover the Kansas City method for grilling fork-tender baby-back ribs.

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States