Best Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
Very good! I left out the lemon juice and the salt and added about a 1/4 cup of sugar and used grimes golden apples. Next time I'll try using even less sugar or maybe some splenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
Fantastic!! I love this recipe! Contrary to others I simply used red delicious apples instead of granny smith and WOW! Never thought I'd miss sugar. It is and was delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
I liked this easy recipe, so did my boys. I put the apple mixture into pocket pies and was surprised the kids wanted them! I did add a tiny bit of powdered sugar glaze over the top to 'dress' them up. It didn't need it, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISCOKID

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
Janet warren
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
Thr recipe was very easy and straightforward. It comes out pretty darn sour with no sugar and that much lemon, like MASMAY said. I used about 1/4 cup of sugar with this recipe, and it was still sour. The lemon overpowered the taste of the apples, and you really rely on the apples for all of the sweetness in this pie. Although I did get some nice comments, nobody came back for seconds. The next time I use this recipe, I'll either cut the lemon in half and add 1/4 cup of sugar (or and equivelence of sugar substitute) or try JSONEAL's idea of 1Tbsp OJ instead of lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr. Dog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
I was hopeful this would be great, but it was a disaster. I used granny smiths with the lemon (maybe should have used orange as recommended) and it was sour and not sweet at all. I followed the recipe to the letter, I believe, but had no takers after two pieces. Big disappointment as we have loved a no sugar apple pie from BJ's in the past. Thanks, but it was not for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MASMAY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
I cannot say enough good things about this recipe! Very Easy! I lightly covered with tinfoil the last ten minutes of cooking to keep from getting too brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2004
This was phenomenal,and so very easy. I will be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
Very good pie. My family loved it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
I was so happy to find this recipe! My dad loves pies and cakes but is a diabetic and has a hard time during the holidays with all the baked goods around that he can't have. This pie was EASY and SO GOOOOOOD!!! I made this at Thanksgiving - the whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States