Best Apple Crisp Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
I've got to tell you, that this is the worst recipe for an apple crisp that I've ever tried. I agree with one of the other reviewers, that this recipe should not have made it to the "All Recipes Tried & True Favorites. I've learned the hard way, that one should check the reviews. But I thought that since this recipe was in All Recipes "top 300 recipes" that I was safe and didn't need to check the reviews...boy was I wrong. I knew there was a problem when the recipe said the topping was supposed to "spread evenly over the apples", because what I had was a congealed ball of dough, that I had to rip into little bits and drop on the apples. And when it baked, they turned into little rocks. My Husband, being the sweet man he is, didn't complain, but he had to drown it in milk, to make it edible. I now know, to always and I mean always check the reviews before trying a recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
501 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
The apple crisp was very good. I did not notice any of the previous complaints; I cooked it for the 30minutes and although the crust was "golden brown" it was a light brown and I could see the apples bubbling so I considered it done. The crust was soft , not hard like others complained, maybe they cooked it a little too long? If you eat the crust by itself I guess I can see why it was called "bland" but if you eat it like your supposed to with an apple it is delishous! I still like the traditional oat apple crisp better but this one is a very tasty desert. It is a little sweet, but apple crisp is supposed to be! Plus I used Gala apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
absolutely horrible! Looks nothing like the picture. very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
I can usually salvage almost any recipe, but there was no saving this one. The topping was a cakey, insipid mess. Not crunchy and not "too sweet". I did use granny smiths and maybe they were too tart. But just the consistency of the topping makes this a "no-go" for future attempts at this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
I hate giving bad reviews but I thought this sounded and looked good, however i ended up with flavorless, mushy apples with a rock hard blanket of dough on top, I'll stick with apple crisp III
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2003
I made this Sunday for my family. The topping was so hard once it cooled that we could not eat it. Unfortunately, I will never cook this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2001
I'll make this one again--excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
This was WAY too sweet and the topping wasn't to die for either. I would halve the brown sugar and use another topping, but if you're going to do that, you might as well look for another recipe. Won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2001
Thanks for the great recipe Olga! This crisp was very tasty. I used macintosh apples and added a bit of water to the apples as I like it saucy. The crumb topping was the best I ever had - I was a bit leary on the egg use in the topping but it turned out wonderful. I scaled the recipe for 12 servings and probably added more apples as I did not measure the apples. Enjoyed by all at my dinner party and even though everyone was stuffed from supper they could not resist cleaning their plates of this apple crisp with icecream on top! Definitely will make over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
this recipe is not good at all it does not look like the picure nor does it do as it says it will. i will not be making it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Apple Crisp Ever

Tart apples go perfectly with the sweet, crunchy topping.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States