Best Apple Crisp Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I'm not a big fan of outmeal apple crisp. this is crunchy and good. Added a bit more brown sugar and used fresh apples. I'm so glad I didn't read the reviews before trying this one. Good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Absolutely delicious. Sprinkled a little extra sugar/cinnamon mix on the top and looked just like the picture. I have an apple tree full in the back of the house so already had this twice this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
This was wonderful! I used a mixture of apples, and found the spices and sweetness perfectly balanced. I had no problem with the crust. My crust was crunchy and delicious, though not as crunchy as an oat and nut crust would be. With neither on hand and a craving for crisp, this was a fantastic alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Not what I was expecting...like many of the other reviewers, I had a crumbly situation with the crust. That said, I was in a hurry and wanted something apple-y and cinnamon-y and this recipe fit the bill. It was pretty quick to make and had a great flavor. In a pinch, I'd make this recipe again although if I was having a pre-meditated apple crisp urge, I'd go with one of the more traditional recipes calling for oats. Pretty good for what it is, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
I made this without the egg. I, also, sprinkled a tiny bit more melted butter, (I actually used Smart Balance margarine instead of butter), and a little water to the dish before putting into the oven. This coated the mixture just a little since I didn't use an egg. You can adjust the sugar to your taste. I'll use a tad less next time. I received compliments on this, even more than I do on the apple crisp I make with oats. I made this into a no cholesterol, low-fat dessert because of no butter or eggs and it came out tasting just superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
I started making this recipe before I even read the reviews. I'm not sure what everyone was having problems with but the topping came out great and the crisp was not dry at all. I did everything according to directions (except my family cans apples like crazy in the fall so I used those instead of slicing my own apples. One of our jars equals 4 apple slices). I did not have a problem at all with the topping and I did not use a pastry blender, just whisked it all together and poured on top and came out great! My husband and daughter loved it. Goes great with french vanialla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
A perfectly adequate recipe, though hardly anywhere near the boast of "best", my family ate it without complaint. It certainly was easy to make. Just be sure to use a pastry blender to blend your egg and butter into the flour mixture and you'll have no trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie
Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
At valley forge we struggled for days to keep our muskets clean, our boots dry, and our bellies contented. WIth our tar heel baked by the one armed devil we called The Liberty Chief our moral and stupor of the men was as low as the virtues of a confederate . The men were threatening to turn in their cotton blues and march back to the comforts of their Boston mansions. I was depressed at my efforts to keep the men in line and fight for the preservation of the union under the almighty GOD. As all was seeming lost as the heavens assaulted us with the fury of her torrential angst, the leader of our beloved union came to me in a dream with a plan to defeat the confederate dogs. The war would not have been successed with out the ailment and power from GOD through the everlasting support of our beloved apple crisp. This recipe wasn't that good. But not bad. Just okay. My fellow brethren in the pursuit of liberty and justice and apple crisp. I salute you for your unheeding call to the preservation of the Great Union that we have been born into service to defend. GOD SPEED GENTLEMEN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sgt. Cooking

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I was excited about this recipe b/c it was so easy but when i got to the topping i knew it wasn't going to turn out good. One other review described the topping to a tee. I tried to spread it over the apples and it was stuck to my hands and spoon and it was so gooey there was no way that it could be poured over the apples. I left it in the oven b/c the dough would not get crispy but the apples were drying out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I am surprised at the negative reviews, the first on on the list for example. said that the topping was like a dough having to rip appart... perhaps the recipe was not followed corectly, also, I used a pastery blender and the topping came out perfict. I sliced the granny smith apples thin and only cooked for just under 30 min and it was a hit! everyone went back for seconds. I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Apple Crisp Ever

Tart apples go perfectly with the sweet, crunchy topping.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States