Best Apple Crisp Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
My Wife loved this Apple Crisp. I made it in school with my students and they had a great time and loved it as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Not nearly as bad as other reviewers say...I didn't read the reviews before I started this and when I came back to this page and started reading some of the negative reviews after it was already in the oven, I was a little nervous. So I covered it in foil for about 20 minutes of its cooking time so that it wouldnt become dry, then removed the foil a few minutes before taking it out and turned the broiler on to crisp just the very top. Turned out just fine. Also to note, I used a loaf pan instead of a square pan because I like a more even helping of apples and topping (obviously did not have to use all of the topping...more like 2/3 of it). Additionally, I used half white flour and half wheat flour and honestly could barely tell a difference in the taste. I also used an apple corer/slicer, then cut the slices in thirds. Made it more manageable to eat and I felt like it allowed the apples to spread more evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3xkaty
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Pretty good, I havent had apple crisp in a few years so Im not sure if this is what it is supposed to taste like. I added half of a banana, a little bit of vanilla, and fruits and nuts granola cereal on the top. I thought it was too sweet so I would recommend putting in less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I thought it was very good. I still like my Grandmas southern recipe better though!! I cooked this recipe at 350 for 40 min. and it turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I've made many apple crisp desserts and did not care for this recipe at all. It wasn't even apple "crisp", it was more like apple bread mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Although I prefer the oat apple crisp, this version of the recipe was not bad. Instead of 1/2 a cup of brown sugar I would recommend a full 1 cup instead. Also add 1/2 a teaspoon more cinnamon in the topping and it should be fine :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I'm not one to even write reviews, but i signed up and everything just to write this one. i agree with everyone dry crumbly mess will not use again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenna
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I love this recipe!!! However, I did double the cinnamon, and added some nutmeg. I used fugi apples, and it helps to coat them with some flour before adding the brown sugar to avoid it being watery. And I only baked it for 30 minutes. I saw that alot of people are getting mush for thier toppings. You need to add the egg miture a little bit at a time and lightly toss it with a fork so it forms small clumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I made for my husband tonight. I wish that I didn't. For a Apple Crisp this one is not good. My husband said that it had no flavor at all. The topping reminds him of Grape Nut ceral with no sugar. We bland, no flavor. He asked to to never make this one again. This tells me something is wrong., Because he LOVES APPLES and Cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA
Living In: Federal Heights, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Was really good. I made as is except w. the brown sugar I just sprinkled some on top before putting in the oven. then topped it with whipped cream. It was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA
Living In: Watertown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Apple Crisp Ever

Tart apples go perfectly with the sweet, crunchy topping.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States