Best Apple Crisp Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I'm afraid I must agree with some of the other reviews. I ended up with a petrified crust on top of mushy apples. Thank goodness I tried this out in advance ... I had planned to serve it to guests. Luckily, we have an abundance of apples from our trees this year so I can try a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Read a lot of the reviews AFTER I made this--just to get a sense of the direction the reviews took. It seems like the sweetness is an issue with many; also 'dry', 'crumbly' & so forth. So I will just say what I did for a DOUBLE RECIPE a) coat the rectangular glass pan thoroughly with coconut spray, b) substitute coconut sugar for brown sugar, and use organic granulated for 'white' sugar--these are both less 'sweet', c) half AP flour/half freshly milled hard red wheat flour--this gives it an interesting depth of flavor, d) add a T of ginger powder to the flour mix, also for complexity of flavor. The mixing of the butter/egg/flour combination accomplished more by scattering the 'liquid' over the 'solid' and folding it until evenly clumpy, if that makes sense--this allows some small lumps to form, but overall the effect is of 'moisturized', not in any way doughy or wet. Bake for ~35 minutes, then turn off oven and leave for another 10 minutes or so. Very crispy. Hubby LOVED it; raved for about a half an hour & upset that I gave some away to my mom & brother to take home ;-) I believe if I make this again, I will put more apples: this had about 10 small ones from our neighborhood trees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
I read a lot of reviews who said this recipe is too dry. I myself rarely ever follow recipes to a tee. I usually read them before cooking or baking for guidelines and do what I feel works best. Its just the way I work. Anyway, after taking a look at the apple crisp 3/4 through the cooking time, I noticed it did in fact look a little dry, so all I did was open up a little apple juice box and poured about half through the cracks. It worked wonders! I'm going to be doing this from now on! The apple juice thickened up and almost caramelized the apples, plus, it tastes better then if I would've added water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I always check reviews but while looking at allrecipe on my roku streaming box I came across this one I follow directions. Mix topping with hands. Topping was very hard and thick. I thank I will stick with the oatmeal topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I just finished eating a piece of this apple crisp, I left it in for a little extra time, it turned out okay, the topping was crispy and crumbely,and not dry, apples were cooked, the only thing wrong was it was so sweet, cutting down on the sugar will help this recipe. I will make it again. but less sugar next time, outside of that it was very tasty. Thanks Olga
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomG.
Living In: Elmira, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
EXCELLENT! I used dehydrated cherries in here as well and it soaked up the extra moisture from the apples. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi Dianchrist

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glyndon, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Farmington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
With no oatmeal around, decided to try this version with some apples that needed to be used. It turned out really well, though the apples were a tad sweet and too juicy. I mixed the topping up with a fork and it was crumbly when put on top. Once baked, it was crunchy and delicious. I would definitely make it again, though prefer the oatmeal based crisps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I tried this recipe and read the comments first so I did not over cook it. The family loved it! I served it with vanilla ice cream and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Apple Crisp Ever

Tart apples go perfectly with the sweet, crunchy topping.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States