Best Apple Crisp Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I used Macintosh apples because they are juicier and I like a little nutmeg in mine. A little oats in the topping makes it crisper and a couple pats of butter on the apples. Slice the apples thin if you like it moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Felicity, Ohio, USA
Living In: Manchester, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
DO NOT add egg to crumb topping or its impossible to spread on top - also I added 1 tsp lemon juice & 1/2 tsp cinnamon to apple mixture for added flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
too sweet and lumpy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley MacNeill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I had a bunch of apples and wanted to make apple crisp, but I had no oats, so a google-search later I found this recipe. Basically, it was really good. Really easy to make and satisfied my desire for some apple-y goodness. I was worried because I read the reviews while it was in the oven, but if it turned out as bad as some of you say, you obviously did something wrong. I followed it step for step and it turned out fabulous. As good as something with oats? No. But you get what you make. If your topping wasn't easy to spread or was kind of like a batter, you did it wrong. There was very little amount of liquid in ratio to the dry ingredients of the topping. What you got was more a moistened, crumbly thing of flour and sugar, rather than anything like others describe.Thanks a lot, Olga, I'll be keeping this recipe in mind!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Well, I thought this recipe turned out great! Not to sure why others had trouble, but this recipe is very delicious - turned out just like the picture. The crust (even once cooled) was nice and crumbly, easy to eat and blended wonderfully with the sweet apple filling. I will probably mix the flour with quick cooking oats for the topping the next time, only because I like oats. Follow the directions and you will end up with a delicious apple crisp. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I tweaked a bit - used gala apples, skipped the brown sugar and replaced it with a mixture of white sugar/cinnamon of threw in a half cup of raisins and crushed pecans. I also used an extra egg in the topping mixture, made it more spreadable. Baked for 40 minutes and it is nice and syrupy, not at all dry like some of the other reviews. My family devoured it. It'll be a main dessert dish at my family Thanksgiving this year for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I followed this recipe pretty much exactly. (The only thing I did differently was blend the egg and butter separately into the dry mix, since I was afraid of scrambling the egg.) It turned out great! And so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I never write a bad review as I have never had a failure in the recipes at AllRecipes.com but I feel compelled to warn others to avoid this recipe. How it can be labelled the best apple crisp ever is a mystery. No one liked it. I agree with the comments by the other reviewers that had a failure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
My Wife loved this Apple Crisp. I made it in school with my students and they had a great time and loved it as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Not nearly as bad as other reviewers say...I didn't read the reviews before I started this and when I came back to this page and started reading some of the negative reviews after it was already in the oven, I was a little nervous. So I covered it in foil for about 20 minutes of its cooking time so that it wouldnt become dry, then removed the foil a few minutes before taking it out and turned the broiler on to crisp just the very top. Turned out just fine. Also to note, I used a loaf pan instead of a square pan because I like a more even helping of apples and topping (obviously did not have to use all of the topping...more like 2/3 of it). Additionally, I used half white flour and half wheat flour and honestly could barely tell a difference in the taste. I also used an apple corer/slicer, then cut the slices in thirds. Made it more manageable to eat and I felt like it allowed the apples to spread more evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3xkaty
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Apple Crisp Ever

Tart apples go perfectly with the sweet, crunchy topping.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States