Best Apple Crisp Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
It was good but way too sweet and I love sweet. Just adjust some of the sugars and I think it will be great. My husband liked it so that's a good sign.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Left out the egg and used more butter to make a 'crumbier' topping, tossed apple slices with a capful of lemon juice while they rested then sprinkled apple slices with a little extra cinnamon and sugar. Used HoneyCrisp Apples - lots of juice so it came out a little googey but served with vanilla ice cream very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I really liked this recipe, and while I haven't made that many Apple Crisps in my life, I've eaten plenty and really liked this, and so did my three friends who I shared it with. I'm not sure what kind of apples I used, but they were definitely on the less sweet and watery side. Best part is that it wasn't as overly sweet like so many others are, and it was super easy to make! I used whole wheat flour as my only alteration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I thought this was great! I can't have sugar so I used a sugar replacement and whole wheat flour. It was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I'm not a big fan of outmeal apple crisp. this is crunchy and good. Added a bit more brown sugar and used fresh apples. I'm so glad I didn't read the reviews before trying this one. Good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Absolutely delicious. Sprinkled a little extra sugar/cinnamon mix on the top and looked just like the picture. I have an apple tree full in the back of the house so already had this twice this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
This was wonderful! I used a mixture of apples, and found the spices and sweetness perfectly balanced. I had no problem with the crust. My crust was crunchy and delicious, though not as crunchy as an oat and nut crust would be. With neither on hand and a craving for crisp, this was a fantastic alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Not what I was expecting...like many of the other reviewers, I had a crumbly situation with the crust. That said, I was in a hurry and wanted something apple-y and cinnamon-y and this recipe fit the bill. It was pretty quick to make and had a great flavor. In a pinch, I'd make this recipe again although if I was having a pre-meditated apple crisp urge, I'd go with one of the more traditional recipes calling for oats. Pretty good for what it is, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
I made this without the egg. I, also, sprinkled a tiny bit more melted butter, (I actually used Smart Balance margarine instead of butter), and a little water to the dish before putting into the oven. This coated the mixture just a little since I didn't use an egg. You can adjust the sugar to your taste. I'll use a tad less next time. I received compliments on this, even more than I do on the apple crisp I make with oats. I made this into a no cholesterol, low-fat dessert because of no butter or eggs and it came out tasting just superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
I started making this recipe before I even read the reviews. I'm not sure what everyone was having problems with but the topping came out great and the crisp was not dry at all. I did everything according to directions (except my family cans apples like crazy in the fall so I used those instead of slicing my own apples. One of our jars equals 4 apple slices). I did not have a problem at all with the topping and I did not use a pastry blender, just whisked it all together and poured on top and came out great! My husband and daughter loved it. Goes great with french vanialla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Apple Crisp Ever

Tart apples go perfectly with the sweet, crunchy topping.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States