Best Apple Crisp Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
It is good and made it lots of time. Pretty easy to make not sure how other people messed up when it is so easy to make. It is also good with ice cream and coffee too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I was so disappointed! Mine looked just like the video but was not like an apple crisp usually is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Edible, but definitely NOT the best apple crisp ever. Tasted mostly like sugar, even though I used tart apples. The topping did not look anything like the photos. In my opinion the recipe calls for way too much sugar in the topping and not enough cinnamon as I thought it was bland and the topping too sweet. I should have know when I noticed that almost every other apple crisp recipe I've seen adds cinnamon in with the apples, and not just in the topping. Like I said, it was edible with a scoop of ice cream on top, but I am disappointed as I was having a hardcore preggo craving for apple crisp and this left me wishing I would have tried a different recipe. I guess I should have read the reviews first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tchilvere

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wyoming, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jenison, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
WORST apple crisp EVER...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I'm afraid I must agree with some of the other reviews. I ended up with a petrified crust on top of mushy apples. Thank goodness I tried this out in advance ... I had planned to serve it to guests. Luckily, we have an abundance of apples from our trees this year so I can try a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Read a lot of the reviews AFTER I made this--just to get a sense of the direction the reviews took. It seems like the sweetness is an issue with many; also 'dry', 'crumbly' & so forth. So I will just say what I did for a DOUBLE RECIPE a) coat the rectangular glass pan thoroughly with coconut spray, b) substitute coconut sugar for brown sugar, and use organic granulated for 'white' sugar--these are both less 'sweet', c) half AP flour/half freshly milled hard red wheat flour--this gives it an interesting depth of flavor, d) add a T of ginger powder to the flour mix, also for complexity of flavor. The mixing of the butter/egg/flour combination accomplished more by scattering the 'liquid' over the 'solid' and folding it until evenly clumpy, if that makes sense--this allows some small lumps to form, but overall the effect is of 'moisturized', not in any way doughy or wet. Bake for ~35 minutes, then turn off oven and leave for another 10 minutes or so. Very crispy. Hubby LOVED it; raved for about a half an hour & upset that I gave some away to my mom & brother to take home ;-) I believe if I make this again, I will put more apples: this had about 10 small ones from our neighborhood trees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
I read a lot of reviews who said this recipe is too dry. I myself rarely ever follow recipes to a tee. I usually read them before cooking or baking for guidelines and do what I feel works best. Its just the way I work. Anyway, after taking a look at the apple crisp 3/4 through the cooking time, I noticed it did in fact look a little dry, so all I did was open up a little apple juice box and poured about half through the cracks. It worked wonders! I'm going to be doing this from now on! The apple juice thickened up and almost caramelized the apples, plus, it tastes better then if I would've added water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I always check reviews but while looking at allrecipe on my roku streaming box I came across this one I follow directions. Mix topping with hands. Topping was very hard and thick. I thank I will stick with the oatmeal topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Apple Crisp Ever

Tart apples go perfectly with the sweet, crunchy topping.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States