Best 100 Calorie Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
Not a recipe I'd make again. As a couple of other reviewers have mentioned, the "dough" was very heavy, and it was hard to stir in the blueberries. The flavour was great, certainly appreciated the lo-cal aspect of the receipe, but would not make them again. There are better receipes available. We did eat them.....I refuse to waste food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2015
Okay recipe. Used cashew milk instead of milk, less sugar (1/2 cup mixed brown and white) and still only made 10 muffins (not filled to the top). The texture is heavy, but that is an okay exchange for an "un-cake" like muffin, which I prefer. If I make these again I will double the recipe and do some other additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tintasian
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
Brilliant!! Came out perfect. Didn't have skim milk so I used almond milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Ours turned out terrible. There was another reviewer who stated the batter was hard to work with--I know exactly what she means, because ours came out more like cookie dough than batter, and the flavor was meh and the texture dense and chewy and not at all tasty. We couldn't eat but a few, and it was such a letdown to throw the rest away because I *love* blueberries (plus they're currently close to 3.50/lb!). I am a fairly decent baker, and I can certainly follow a recipe, but I must have done something wrong because we did not like these AT ALL. Sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
I am eating one of these right now, fresh from the oven-I used unsweetened applesauce, so I used almost the full amount of sugar, and I added about 1/8 tsp of Cardamom: The next time I will use half the cinnamon, as I found the full teaspoon a bit over-powering, unless you are a big cinnamon fan. After reading all of the reviews I went with one and one-half cups of fresh blueberries, which was perfect. Over-all I am thrilled with these. I also made a batch with 1 grated medium zucchini instead of blueberries, omitted the cinnamon and used grated nutmeg instead. Baked them in my muffin-top pan and they are awesome. Store-bought low-fat muffins are expensive and taste bad: This is an awesome recipe !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I made these yesterday and my partner couldn't get enough of them. He kept raving about how amazing they were. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I changed some ingredients to 1/2 cup sugar, 1/4 cup brown sugar, 2 teaspoons vanilla extract, 1 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon, and 2/5 cup milk to make them perfect! The calorie count changed to 158 calories per muffin but it was worth it! They were moist and very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Great muffins! Loads of berries. I subed out the sugar for splenda, and used unsweetened almond milk instead of the milk. Got these bad boys down to 80 calories each!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I haven't made these yet, but my cycle class instructor did ... and, boy, were they good! I'll be making a batch very soon now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James 1588

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Positives: the flavour is nice, and they are low calorie. Negatives: the texture is very chewy and dense. The "dough" was thick and hard to work with, and I had to add a lot more milk just to be able to get the batter in my pans. The berries burst and created a blackened, sticky mess in my muffin pans. I even used cupcake liners, and my pans were still a nightmare to clean. Overall: disappointed and would not make these again. My kids would not eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MinxyBaby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States