Best 100 Calorie Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Tintasian
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
Brilliant!! Came out perfect. Didn't have skim milk so I used almond milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Ours turned out terrible. There was another reviewer who stated the batter was hard to work with--I know exactly what she means, because ours came out more like cookie dough than batter, and the flavor was meh and the texture dense and chewy and not at all tasty. We couldn't eat but a few, and it was such a letdown to throw the rest away because I *love* blueberries (plus they're currently close to 3.50/lb!). I am a fairly decent baker, and I can certainly follow a recipe, but I must have done something wrong because we did not like these AT ALL. Sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
I am eating one of these right now, fresh from the oven-I used unsweetened applesauce, so I used almost the full amount of sugar, and I added about 1/8 tsp of Cardamom: The next time I will use half the cinnamon, as I found the full teaspoon a bit over-powering, unless you are a big cinnamon fan. After reading all of the reviews I went with one and one-half cups of fresh blueberries, which was perfect. Over-all I am thrilled with these. I also made a batch with 1 grated medium zucchini instead of blueberries, omitted the cinnamon and used grated nutmeg instead. Baked them in my muffin-top pan and they are awesome. Store-bought low-fat muffins are expensive and taste bad: This is an awesome recipe !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I made these yesterday and my partner couldn't get enough of them. He kept raving about how amazing they were. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I changed some ingredients to 1/2 cup sugar, 1/4 cup brown sugar, 2 teaspoons vanilla extract, 1 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon, and 2/5 cup milk to make them perfect! The calorie count changed to 158 calories per muffin but it was worth it! They were moist and very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Great muffins! Loads of berries. I subed out the sugar for splenda, and used unsweetened almond milk instead of the milk. Got these bad boys down to 80 calories each!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I haven't made these yet, but my cycle class instructor did ... and, boy, were they good! I'll be making a batch very soon now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James 1588

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Positives: the flavour is nice, and they are low calorie. Negatives: the texture is very chewy and dense. The "dough" was thick and hard to work with, and I had to add a lot more milk just to be able to get the batter in my pans. The berries burst and created a blackened, sticky mess in my muffin pans. I even used cupcake liners, and my pans were still a nightmare to clean. Overall: disappointed and would not make these again. My kids would not eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MinxyBaby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Love the guilt free muffins!!! I didn't have applesauce on hand so I substituted it with a tub of 2% plain greek yogurt. It seemed a bit too viscous so I doubled the milk. I also added some nutmeg, cloves, and allspice. Overall they were very satisfying and surprisingly moist. There were a lot of blue berries, so I would recommend going with 1 1/2 cups instead of two. Make these muffins, you won't be sorry :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I love this recipe!!!!!!! I personally found it too sweet, but I have low blood sugar. My daughter is very finicky, and she loved them! She is into all that healthy stuff! Her daughters loved them too! :). I added a little more applesauce and used organic whole wheat flour. Oh, I added more vanilla too. Oh, and I also added nuts to give it texture and flavor! My English teacher from high school would be so disappointed with the sentence structure here!!!!!! Lol!! I am going to leave out about 1/4 of white sugar the next time I make these, by the way! ;) Made these for my mother the way I like them. Not enough sugar for her. So, I made them per recipe, with nuts and flax seed added. She loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Gallardo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Adrian, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States