Bessy's Zesty Grilled Garlic-Herb Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2003
This recipe is AWESOME. I thought the ingredients looked pretty weird altogether but thought I'd try it anyhow. My husband and I loved it. So I made it for my in-laws who loved it, and then for my family back home, and they loved it, too. Everyone I make this for has asked for the recipe. The only change I made was that I left out the saffron because I simply can't afford it! But one of these days I'd like to try it with it and see if it adds anything... NOTE: It's a few months later, and I'm on the Atkins diet. I modified the recipe and it was just as good! I omitted the honey and used Splenda in place of the sugar. My husband didn't even know the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gales Ferry, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
Excellent, excellent and excellent!!! The recipe made a great sauce to put over egg noodles. My mom said that it was similar to something she had at the New York Hilton. She highly recommended me making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
I've just recently been trying to take over some of the cooking responsibilities for my wife, and this was my first big endeavor - my wife and i LOVED it! It tasted like something you might expect to receive at a high-class restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
This was very tasty. My son said "Mom, this is so so so good!" My two year old didn't throw it around either. For once he was quiet and ate. This is the first time I've used a recipe online so I was kind of sceptical. This sure made a believer in me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2003
SO GOOD! Saffron is a bit expensive but luckily I had some. It doesn't really add much flavor so with or without is fine. Also try this recipe without sugar and honey it's still really good. *HINT* You only need enough olive oil to coat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2003
definately delish. I normally don't like anything charred, but the "char" is just carmolized sugar... it's my new favorite marinade. We barbequed chicken and had it as a main corse, and i also have used the George Foreman to cook the chicken in this marinade and then sliced it up for salads. Highly recomended :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bhappe

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2003
Zesty is right. This is a great change from all the soy sauce marinades. The chicken had great flavor. I marinted it during the day as opposed for 20 or 25 minutes. I also didn't have saffron but I don't think it made a difference. I also doubled the garlic. When it came off the grill it looked fantastic. A nice brownish glaze with all the herbs basted in. My husband said this was a keeper. Make it, eat it, enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
This recipe really caught my family's attention! Most of my experiments with new meals get responses like "It's OK mom..", but this one was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2004
Yummy... Totally agreed, this is a great break from the soy based marinades. We'll be adding this to our collection. Skipped the saffron. Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2004
This is great! I also used it on pork but omitted the saffron.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Grilled Lemon & Yogurt Chicken

Watch Chef John make a healthy, low-fat chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States