Bessy's Zesty Grilled Garlic-Herb Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
OMG!! I want to eat this chicken everyday!! I doubled the spice and kept the same amount of oil, and marinated the chicken all day. Sweet and spicy all at the same time, the saffron is a must. So tender also :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
This was delicious and our dinner guests raved. Quick and easy and with just the right zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This recipe is good if you're looking for something fast. I agree that the saffron did not add a lot to the recipe but the garlic sure did. I think that overall it would taste better if the marinating time was longer than the called for time on the recipe. That way the flavors would be able to infuse better. I did use a little less EVOO too. Believe me... it was plenty. I would try it again though and just marinate it longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Amazing! This is my absolutely favorite Chicken recipe. It is sooooo easy and tastes awesome! I came up with an idea while we were eating it. I made the recipe in a skillet instead of the grill. I only pulled the chicken out of the marinade but there was left over marinade so I decided to make a gravy out of it..... oh my goodness made the chicken into some crazy amazing, restaurant quality meal. I was thinking next time to have it with rice/pasta or even mashed potatoes, it was simply fantastic. We are definitely going to be eating this over and over. I already got out chicken to defrost again!!! haha. (oh and my 6 and 7 year olds loved it too!) My daughter took one bite and came over and hugged me... LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I didn't use exact measurements of any of the ingredients. I used about 2 breasts and cut them in to strips. I did not have saffron, i added cilantro paste and lime juice. They turned out amazing on the grill and were a huge hit at the pool party
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I'm giving only 4 stars because I modified the recipe, but it turned out fantastic. I made this for my mom for Mother's Day because she said she wanted grilled chicken that was flavored with garlic and herbs, but not sweet. So I started with the crushed garlic and the dried spices (except saffron and sage because I didn't have any on hand) then added a few tablespoons of olive oil and the honey, but left out the sugar. I had watched the video on this site about making marinades, and they said that something acidic like lemon juice or vinegar helps tenderize the meat and keep it moist. So I then added enough white wine vinegar and more olive oil to make a good marinade consistency. I let 3 boneless chicken breasts marinate overnight, turning once, and grilled the next afternoon. They were delicious! The only change I might make would be to put in less salt because I felt it was a little on the salty side, but my parents thought it was fine. I think because I marinated it longer it may have picked up more salt from the marinade than it would have if it had only been 20 minutes or so. But it was so good that my mom wants me to make it for my brother's wedding rehearsal dinner this fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly. What went wrong? This recipe got such rave reviews... but it wasn't anything special for me and my husband. We tasted the sweet and a slight earthy herb flavor but other than that - nothing special (not much favor). Not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
We'd like to give this recipe 4.5 stars. It was simple to make and all the ingrediants we had on hand. We marindaded as the recipe called and it turned out very good. The chicken was very moist and had a great flavor. Will definitely marinade over night next time and then it would be a 5 star recipe for sure! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Wow! This was divine and tantalizing! I ended up marinating the chicken overnight and grilling on the George Forman - came out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Passaic, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
The flavor of this recipe was fantastic! I have made it twice now. It is so quick and easy and tastes wonderful. The second time I made it I didn't marinate it for very long, it was still good but it's way better when it has had a good amount of time to marinate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TashinaK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Grilled Lemon & Yogurt Chicken

Watch Chef John make a healthy, low-fat chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States