Bessy's Zesty Grilled Garlic-Herb Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
This marinade is great! I made minor changes to fit our tastes - I used only 3/4 cup EVOO; just a little less than 1/2 cup of sugar; and I cut the cayenne back to 1/2 tsp; and I use saffron. This will definately be added to our weekly rotation. Everyone loved it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Excellent! I used chicken legs.To make it more "light" (we are all on a diet) I substituted sugar substitute for the sugar and reduced the oil. Also, becuse I had it on hand, I added about 1/2 cup of hot chutney to the marianade. I removed all trace of marinade before cooking (baked in oven). Even hubby liked this and he hates chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This recipe was great. I didn't have any sage or saffron, so skipped out on those two but it was still delicious. I was a little hesitant about the cayenne pepper because I am not one for spicy foods, but it didn't carry much kick - may even add more next time. I cooked it on a George Foreman grill and it took about 5 minutes for each piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
This was fine, nothing extra special. It was sweet, so having the chicken on a salad would be good. I thought the chicken was a little tough from the marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
YUM YUM YUM! So good! Too lazy to fire up the grill though, so I just cooked it in a skillet and it was still great! (Also omitted the Saffron... And didn't happen to have cayenne pepper, so I used a little Tabasco sauce.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
We also skipped on the saffron and cut back on the olive oil and it still came out great! Easy to grill and a great mix of sweet and spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by la belle vie
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
this was pretty good.. a little sweet so i would cut back on the sugar if i were to make it again. a little spicy for the kids.. otherwise pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by la belle vie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Bessy Zesty Chicken Haiku: "Irresistible. A reason to use saffron! Tender, vibrant taste!" This is one of those marinades that, despite all the elements that goes into it, sneaks up on you, with its unusual, light, and yes, zesty taste. I love that it's not soy sauce or citrus, based, and that the saffron imparts a subtle unique flavor and yellow tinge. The honey and the additional herbs all come together for a taste that while not bold or ostentatious, still produce a delicate flavor. The only things that I changed was halving the recipe for 2 chicken breasts that I'd cut into strips, and also halving the olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Delicious!! Perfect alternative to BBQ sauce for family picnics!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Polk City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
fantastic! used a little more saffron than called for, and some ancho chille seeds instead of cayenne. I think next time I'll try the cayenne, absolutely delicious though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Grilled Lemon & Yogurt Chicken

Watch Chef John make a healthy, low-fat chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States