Bessy's Zesty Grilled Garlic-Herb Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
It was definitely flavorful, and sweet. I didn't have saffron on hand so I didn't use it; basically I just used whatever herbs and spices I had (basil, thyme, cayenne, oregano, parsley) and I added a little paprika too. It tastes good, mmm.. However, I think the recipe calls for too much oil. Still very good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
This was excellent. I marinated two chicken breasts using these ingredients: 1/3 cup of olive oil & 1/3 cup of honey (no sugar used!). I left the spices the same, except I substituted 1/2 tsp of turmeric for saffron (they both add colour, but turmeric is way cheaper!). I let them sit for about 3 hours. I baked them at 425 for 30 minutes. They were moist and delicious! I'll definitely make this one again. If you're baking it, make sure to line the pan with tin foil. The sauce is super sticky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
Very Good! I substituted splenda for the sugar and I cut the oil in half and that was still too much oil. It just created flare ups on the grill. Next time I'll use 2 tbsps of oil and add some chicken stock to marinate next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Great when you don't have time to marinate. The side of the grill with the chicken I kept on low but turned the other side to high to avoid flames and charring from the olive oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
This was SOOOO very delicious and EASY!!! I left out the saffron as everyone else said to... I followed recipe except for that but I would cut the olive oil in half next time as it is a wasteful amount and half the amount gets the job done!! We made this twice last week!! This will be in my weekly rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eastchester, New York, USA
Living In: Bedford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
My picky boys (ages 5&7) love this chicken. They call it secret ingredient chicken because of the saffron, and request it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Wasn't able to try it with saffron but loved it without. Hopefully will get to try the full recipe soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Good but not incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Swinton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Very fine recipe. Exelend marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Well, I’m sorry to say neither Hubs nor I was impressed with this one. I thought the amount of oil called for was excessive and reduced it by half. I also reduced the sugar by half and it was still too sweet for us. I guess this one just wasn’t for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Grilled Lemon & Yogurt Chicken

Watch Chef John make a healthy, low-fat chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States