Bessy's Zesty Grilled Garlic-Herb Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
This chicken is definitely zesty and a bit sweet with a nice touch of garlic. I omitted the saffron as did a lot of others and cut the oil down to 3/4 cup. Other than that I didn't change a thing. I pounded the chicken down to 1/2 inch and let it marinate for a few hours. The marinade didn't soak through, but the chicken was nice and tender and the outside was carmelized. It looks great and tastes even better. This goes very nice with pasta. I served it with Penne from Heaven and a nice tossed salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2003
SO GOOD! Saffron is a bit expensive but luckily I had some. It doesn't really add much flavor so with or without is fine. Also try this recipe without sugar and honey it's still really good. *HINT* You only need enough olive oil to coat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2003
definately delish. I normally don't like anything charred, but the "char" is just carmolized sugar... it's my new favorite marinade. We barbequed chicken and had it as a main corse, and i also have used the George Foreman to cook the chicken in this marinade and then sliced it up for salads. Highly recomended :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bhappe

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
This is SO delicious. I have made this a ton of times this summer, and everyone who has tasted it cannot say enough about how moist and flavorful it is. I change a few minor things: I skip the saffron (used it once out of curiosity, and it didn't make enough of a difference to justify the price -- it's amazing without it), I cut the cayenne pepper back to just under 1/2 tsp. (to be honest, I've never tried it with the full amount, but it just sounds like a lot of cayenne to me -- 1/2 tsp. is great), I cut the amount of olive oil in half, and I increase the marinating time. I've let this marinate anywhere from a couple of hours to a couple of days (once when going away on a trip when I had to take dinner along to make a couple of days later) -- delicious, any way you go about it. Great for chicken sandwiches; equally great with rice pilaf or grilled potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2003
Zesty is right. This is a great change from all the soy sauce marinades. The chicken had great flavor. I marinted it during the day as opposed for 20 or 25 minutes. I also didn't have saffron but I don't think it made a difference. I also doubled the garlic. When it came off the grill it looked fantastic. A nice brownish glaze with all the herbs basted in. My husband said this was a keeper. Make it, eat it, enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
This recipe was okay, but it had A LOT of olive oil in it. Also, the saffron was too expensive and didn't add much taste. If you cut down on the olive oil and eliminate the saffron, the recipe is good, but I wouldn't put it into my regular rotation of recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
Excellent, excellent and excellent!!! The recipe made a great sauce to put over egg noodles. My mom said that it was similar to something she had at the New York Hilton. She highly recommended me making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2003
This recipe is AWESOME. I thought the ingredients looked pretty weird altogether but thought I'd try it anyhow. My husband and I loved it. So I made it for my in-laws who loved it, and then for my family back home, and they loved it, too. Everyone I make this for has asked for the recipe. The only change I made was that I left out the saffron because I simply can't afford it! But one of these days I'd like to try it with it and see if it adds anything... NOTE: It's a few months later, and I'm on the Atkins diet. I modified the recipe and it was just as good! I omitted the honey and used Splenda in place of the sugar. My husband didn't even know the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gales Ferry, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
I've just recently been trying to take over some of the cooking responsibilities for my wife, and this was my first big endeavor - my wife and i LOVED it! It tasted like something you might expect to receive at a high-class restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by la belle vie
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
this was pretty good.. a little sweet so i would cut back on the sugar if i were to make it again. a little spicy for the kids.. otherwise pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by la belle vie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Grilled Lemon & Yogurt Chicken

Watch Chef John make a healthy, low-fat chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States