Bessy's Zesty Grilled Garlic-Herb Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
The whole family enjoyed this dinner. I did make some drumsticks and the kids complained they were too sticky. That was the extent of the complaints. I do think I'll marinate it longer next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I wish I could give zero stars. I actually did buy the saffron--dont bother. The tastes were very weird. Blech.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Great recipe. I am slightly concerned by the eating chicken that has been marinating in a cup of oil though. So as much as I enjoyed it, it will be an infrequent meal at best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ancaster, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Good recipe however it will not be going into the regular recipe rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This was wonderful, will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRANKIETRIP

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
This chicken is definitely zesty and a bit sweet with a nice touch of garlic. I omitted the saffron as did a lot of others and cut the oil down to 3/4 cup. Other than that I didn't change a thing. I pounded the chicken down to 1/2 inch and let it marinate for a few hours. The marinade didn't soak through, but the chicken was nice and tender and the outside was carmelized. It looks great and tastes even better. This goes very nice with pasta. I served it with Penne from Heaven and a nice tossed salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
WONDERFUL!!! This is good on just about everything, not just chicken. I omit the saffron and the honey (I ran out). You really only need enough oil to coat the chicken. I kept the rest of the ingrediants the same, and also add a tsp. of cumin, 1/2 tsp of onion powder, 4 or 5 shakes of wostershire, doubled the garlic, added about 1/4 cup of brown sugar (I wanted to have it HOT but also sweet to balance it out) and about a tbsp of Abobo seasoning. If you are making chicken breats I would suggest cutting them down into 2" strips, therefore getting more marinate on the chicken. I am using chicken wings and marinating overnight. Should turn out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Oh my goodness, this is the best! We always use boneless breasts and make sandwiches out of them (on hamburger buns with lots of mayo, lettuce, tomato and onion) and they are heaven!!! The longer you marinate them, the better! My husband always grumbles about how hard they are to grill without burning (sugar and oil) but it's always well worth it! You won't be sorry!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salisbury, Vermont, USA
Living In: Anthem, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
husband didn't like it - didn't even finish it. I was okay with it, lacked definite flavor. Grilled. Marinated 24 hours. Otherwise no deviations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaimie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
OMG Sooo good. Omit sugar, double honey. Add 1 cup white wine and 2 tbs corn starch to marinade and boil. Bake 15 min each side at 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Grilled Lemon & Yogurt Chicken

Watch Chef John make a healthy, low-fat chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States