Besan (Gram Flour) Halwa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by gk808
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2015
Wow! I thought for a while there that I was going to end up with soup but I was amazed how quickly it thickened up as I added the milk! It was almost instantaneously! I substituted coconut oil with a little butter for flavor, used only 1/4 tsp of cardamom along with 1/4 tsp tahitian dried vanilla extract (great stuff!) and toasted my almond slices for crunchiness. Pleasantly surprised! Next time I am thinking of either rolling it into toasted coconut or just adding shredded coconut to the mix. Should be lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gk808

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
I have some besan, but didn't know what to do with it. This recipe was a blessing. I didn't have ghee or cardamom, but substituted with canola oil and cinnamon/nutmeg. I think it will not set as it should (since I used the oil), but it still turned out delicious. I crushed some sunflower seeds and peanuts to top. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monique Charles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2015
I have made this recipe several times, and it always comes out great! It is easy and if you can't find Glee (or sometimes it's too expensive) I use butter instead, and it comes out just as good. Anyway thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Perfect proportions, tastes just like my grandmothers. Important to cook the ghee-flour mixture until it is fragrant and just browned. I used just slightly less sugar, but I think what the recipe calls for is actually perfect. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
yr good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Followed directions as is - minus the cardamom as I did not have any on hand. It didn't take more than 5 minutes after adding the milk. Came together perfect. Thanks for an amazing recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
instead of cardamom, i used half teaspoon of cinnamon, and 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg, and it was so good that it tasted like pumpkin pie. infact, on a creative day, i might even use this recipe in a pie crust..it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Moody, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This is great. I followed the recipe as written and it was easy to make. Didn't bother to cut it up in diamonds just put the whole thing in a bowl and decorated it with almonds and pistachios roughly chopped up in a coffee grinder. Got many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anthro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Very easy to prepare I added a little more Cardamon than it called for and I topped mine with some crushed Pistachios that I added a very small amount of brown sugar to when I crushed them. It was a big hit will definately make this again Thank you for the recipie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Bett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This was easy to make, and not as sweet as most American candy! I added a little cinnamon as extra spice. Great tasting! I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States