Besan (Gram Flour) Halwa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I had some leftover chickpea flour from making Nan Khatai and decided to try this...I'm not familiar with this type of Halwa, so it was a new experience! I substituted butter (not quite sure how much I used) because I didn't have ghee. I may have needed more...the flour mixture was very lumpy so I added a bit of oil. Since I don't know what this is supposed to be like, I'm not sure if it turned out...what I do know is that the cardamom flavour was wonderful, and I really enjoyed this sweet treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawnee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This was easy to make, and not as sweet as most American candy! I added a little cinnamon as extra spice. Great tasting! I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Very easy to prepare I added a little more Cardamon than it called for and I topped mine with some crushed Pistachios that I added a very small amount of brown sugar to when I crushed them. It was a big hit will definately make this again Thank you for the recipie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Bett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This is great. I followed the recipe as written and it was easy to make. Didn't bother to cut it up in diamonds just put the whole thing in a bowl and decorated it with almonds and pistachios roughly chopped up in a coffee grinder. Got many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anthro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
instead of cardamom, i used half teaspoon of cinnamon, and 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg, and it was so good that it tasted like pumpkin pie. infact, on a creative day, i might even use this recipe in a pie crust..it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Moody, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Followed directions as is - minus the cardamom as I did not have any on hand. It didn't take more than 5 minutes after adding the milk. Came together perfect. Thanks for an amazing recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
yr good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Perfect proportions, tastes just like my grandmothers. Important to cook the ghee-flour mixture until it is fragrant and just browned. I used just slightly less sugar, but I think what the recipe calls for is actually perfect. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States