Bertha's Blueberry Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2001
This was really GROSS!!!!It tasted terrible! and I LOVE blueberries and dumplings, just not together. It's really garpy and floury tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I Love this recipe with Blackberries That's the way my mom made it when I was little. I couldn't remember how she did it. I was so happy to see this one on line. The first bite was like going back in time. I will try the Blueberries too. But, makes a delicious blackberry dessert. I altered the recipe a little my husband has heart disease so, instead of lard I used olive oil. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
We went out early this morning to pick blueberries, and when we got home we both wanted something made with blueberries NOW. I whipped this up quickly, and in no time we had a delicious, satisfying blueberry fix, even without an ice cream topping. I can't wait to dive into the leftovers. Shortening worked fine instead of lard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
This is simple and tasty. To make the dumplings come out a little more tender and delicious, add a little less than 1T more lard or shortening, and zest some lemon rind into the dry ingredients before adding the milk. Then, only stir the milk in until the dry ingredients are moist- don't stir and stir. Thanks for the delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2001
My kids and my husband loved this one. I served it with a cinnamon sauce and whipped cream. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Very quick and easy to make. Really loved the blueberry sauce. So good with vanilla ice cream. The dumplings have potential but I found them too heavy and not very flavourful. Used butter instead of lard. A lighter dumpling with some vanilla & lemon zest added would make a huge difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
While this was very easy and good, I think I would use a different dumpling dough next time--this one was a bit too dense and doughy for me. I used vegetable shortening instead of lard, for the record.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2004
Oh, this is soooo good. It is now a family favorite. I made it while camping and it just tasted wonderful. I added 2 T sugar to the dumping mixture. This is definitely Comfort Food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by madiheartsyooh
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
ohh miii gahhh!!!! this was pretty much.. ahhhmazzingg!!!! i made it for my parents and brother today after dinner and they LOVEDD IT!!!! insted of the lard i used shortening.. and i added 2 tablespoons of white sugar to the dough.. it was a little sticky but it tasted and cooked just fine that way. PEACE LOVESS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madiheartsyooh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burleson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Ive never baked dumplings before... didnt really know what to expect. I added vanilla and used half brown sugar. I also added lemon zest to the dough which was a good move as it added flavour. I would serve it with real whip cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States