Bertha's Blueberry Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2001
This was really GROSS!!!!It tasted terrible! and I LOVE blueberries and dumplings, just not together. It's really garpy and floury tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2001
My kids and my husband loved this one. I served it with a cinnamon sauce and whipped cream. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2004
Oh, this is soooo good. It is now a family favorite. I made it while camping and it just tasted wonderful. I added 2 T sugar to the dumping mixture. This is definitely Comfort Food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
We went out early this morning to pick blueberries, and when we got home we both wanted something made with blueberries NOW. I whipped this up quickly, and in no time we had a delicious, satisfying blueberry fix, even without an ice cream topping. I can't wait to dive into the leftovers. Shortening worked fine instead of lard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
This was quick, and perfect for a treat after skiing all day! It was delicious and satisfied the crowd of hungry athletes! No leftovers here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
I tried this on family events and work events, everyone seems to love it and its soooooo easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
While this was very easy and good, I think I would use a different dumpling dough next time--this one was a bit too dense and doughy for me. I used vegetable shortening instead of lard, for the record.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by madiheartsyooh
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
ohh miii gahhh!!!! this was pretty much.. ahhhmazzingg!!!! i made it for my parents and brother today after dinner and they LOVEDD IT!!!! insted of the lard i used shortening.. and i added 2 tablespoons of white sugar to the dough.. it was a little sticky but it tasted and cooked just fine that way. PEACE LOVESS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madiheartsyooh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burleson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Very quick and easy to make. Really loved the blueberry sauce. So good with vanilla ice cream. The dumplings have potential but I found them too heavy and not very flavourful. Used butter instead of lard. A lighter dumpling with some vanilla & lemon zest added would make a huge difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This was a very fast and easy to follow. I was looking for a desert with no eggs "I was out" and found this. I added 2 tbls of sugar and a tbls of vanilla to dough. used frozen blueberrys worked great. The family loved it. will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States