Bertha's Blueberry Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
We have been making these for as long as this recipe has been posted and we LOVE THEM ! I have made these in mass quanities for church breakfasts as well.When you need to make lots of them, use aluminum pans and bake instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Ive never baked dumplings before... didnt really know what to expect. I added vanilla and used half brown sugar. I also added lemon zest to the dough which was a good move as it added flavour. I would serve it with real whip cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greekqt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
This is simple and tasty. To make the dumplings come out a little more tender and delicious, add a little less than 1T more lard or shortening, and zest some lemon rind into the dry ingredients before adding the milk. Then, only stir the milk in until the dry ingredients are moist- don't stir and stir. Thanks for the delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I Love this recipe with Blackberries That's the way my mom made it when I was little. I couldn't remember how she did it. I was so happy to see this one on line. The first bite was like going back in time. I will try the Blueberries too. But, makes a delicious blackberry dessert. I altered the recipe a little my husband has heart disease so, instead of lard I used olive oil. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This was a very fast and easy to follow. I was looking for a desert with no eggs "I was out" and found this. I added 2 tbls of sugar and a tbls of vanilla to dough. used frozen blueberrys worked great. The family loved it. will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Very quick and easy to make. Really loved the blueberry sauce. So good with vanilla ice cream. The dumplings have potential but I found them too heavy and not very flavourful. Used butter instead of lard. A lighter dumpling with some vanilla & lemon zest added would make a huge difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by madiheartsyooh
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
ohh miii gahhh!!!! this was pretty much.. ahhhmazzingg!!!! i made it for my parents and brother today after dinner and they LOVEDD IT!!!! insted of the lard i used shortening.. and i added 2 tablespoons of white sugar to the dough.. it was a little sticky but it tasted and cooked just fine that way. PEACE LOVESS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madiheartsyooh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burleson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
While this was very easy and good, I think I would use a different dumpling dough next time--this one was a bit too dense and doughy for me. I used vegetable shortening instead of lard, for the record.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
I tried this on family events and work events, everyone seems to love it and its soooooo easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
This was quick, and perfect for a treat after skiing all day! It was delicious and satisfied the crowd of hungry athletes! No leftovers here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States