Berry Trifle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I skipped the praline liqueur (I used it for an after school picnic event), and used only fresh blueberries and strawberries. I also layered it (pound cake, berries, and custard topping three times). It's beautiful in a large glass bowl, delicious, and always a hit when I take it places. My girlfriend even asked me to make it in place of cake for her birthday. Great dessert! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I substituted a gluten free cake mix and used fresh blackberries. It was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I followed the instructions and amounts but the custard turned out thicker then cookie dough...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Made some of the suggested changes and this dessert was amazing! Layered it in a trifle bowl - didn't have the liqueur but used berry jam mixed with a little water to make a syrup instead. I also did not use cool whip but used my own whipped cream and I used fresh berries mashed with a little powered sugar to sweeten. I used one full cup of low fat milk and the can of sweetened milk - the custard was sweet so I only sweetened the whip cream for the top (not the whip cream that was folded into the custard). The texture and flavor was like a cross between cheesecake, strawberry shortcake and tiramisu. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I didn't use praline liquor (had no idea what that was), I used 2 3.5 oz packages of instant vanilla pudding mix and a 1 lb. pound cake. I also used slightly more frozen berries which I thawed in the fridge before I assembled it. I sprinkled the top with fresh blueberries and it was really pretty for Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I liked it. I used a gluten free cake from betty crocker and the cake didn't get soggy. (Gluten Free winds up being denser than a regular white cake). I made my own whipping cream and berries out of the garden. I made it for a dinner party this summer and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Ala Bohn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Odessa, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
My husband requested a berry dessert for his birthday and this is what i made. He loved it! I couldn't find the praline liqueur, but used a pecan-praline ice cream topping instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eva
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
AMAZING!!!! made it for the 4th of july and everyone went ballistic over it! i decorated the top by making an american flag with blackberries and strawberries. light, sweet, moist, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
This trifle was a hit with our family of 6. We used Angel Food Cake and pinched it apart. Instead of praline liqueur we drizzled the berry/cake mixture with maple syrup... Also - we found the need to make the vanilla pudding mixture a bit thinner for pouring by adding a little more milk and we used 2 boxes of vanilla pudding. Love this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
It looks really interesting so I made it out for myself of course. And it taste soooo yummy. I'm making this again for sure! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Summer Berry Parfait with Yogurt and Granola

Start your day with a yogurt parfait with lots of fresh fruit & crunchy granola.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States