Berry Trifle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
If you read the reviews you'll see that most of the 5 stars have changed the recipe, be it the ingredients or the technique. Anyways, as is this is not a good recipe. Dry, heavy cake on the bottom, runny, mushy thawed berries in the middle and thick, too sweet goop on the top. Yep, that sounds like a 1 star doesn't it? However, make a white or yellow box cake, cool it, and cube it, layer said cake with fresh berries and instead of the sweetened condensed milk, make a large box of pudding with milk and fold in half a tub of cool-whip, then use that as another layer. Cake, fresh berries, pudding, cake, fresh berries, pudding and frost it all with the leftover Cool-Whip. Yummers and a big hit EVERY.SINGLE.TIME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I substituted a gluten free cake mix and used fresh blackberries. It was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I followed the instructions and amounts but the custard turned out thicker then cookie dough...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Made some of the suggested changes and this dessert was amazing! Layered it in a trifle bowl - didn't have the liqueur but used berry jam mixed with a little water to make a syrup instead. I also did not use cool whip but used my own whipped cream and I used fresh berries mashed with a little powered sugar to sweeten. I used one full cup of low fat milk and the can of sweetened milk - the custard was sweet so I only sweetened the whip cream for the top (not the whip cream that was folded into the custard). The texture and flavor was like a cross between cheesecake, strawberry shortcake and tiramisu. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I didn't use praline liquor (had no idea what that was), I used 2 3.5 oz packages of instant vanilla pudding mix and a 1 lb. pound cake. I also used slightly more frozen berries which I thawed in the fridge before I assembled it. I sprinkled the top with fresh blueberries and it was really pretty for Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I liked it. I used a gluten free cake from betty crocker and the cake didn't get soggy. (Gluten Free winds up being denser than a regular white cake). I made my own whipping cream and berries out of the garden. I made it for a dinner party this summer and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Ala Bohn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
My husband requested a berry dessert for his birthday and this is what i made. He loved it! I couldn't find the praline liqueur, but used a pecan-praline ice cream topping instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eva
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
AMAZING!!!! made it for the 4th of july and everyone went ballistic over it! i decorated the top by making an american flag with blackberries and strawberries. light, sweet, moist, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
This trifle was a hit with our family of 6. We used Angel Food Cake and pinched it apart. Instead of praline liqueur we drizzled the berry/cake mixture with maple syrup... Also - we found the need to make the vanilla pudding mixture a bit thinner for pouring by adding a little more milk and we used 2 boxes of vanilla pudding. Love this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
It looks really interesting so I made it out for myself of course. And it taste soooo yummy. I'm making this again for sure! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Summer Berry Parfait with Yogurt and Granola

Start your day with a yogurt parfait with lots of fresh fruit & crunchy granola.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States