Berry Trifle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
We were invited at the last minute to a Memorial Day get-together at a friends' house, and I'd just gotten a new trifle bowl, so of course, I had to make red, white and blue trifle :). I ran to Wally World at about 10:30 the night before and the only pound cake I could find were these eight-to-a-box mini poundcakes. I was hoping to find a lemon poundcake, or at least a Sara Lee frozen poundcake, but I think everyone had the same idea I did. I decided to do four berry layers, so I bought frozen blueberries, frozen raspberries, and frozen blackberries and fresh strawberries. I sprinkled them all with a little sugar and let them sit overnight. I decided to use cheesecake pudding (it just seemed like it'd work). Since we don't do liqueur, I decided to spread the poundcake with preserves. While I was trying to decide which one I wanted to use, I spotted a triple berry ice cream topping by Smuckers (strawberry, raspberry,blackberry) and decided on that. It's thinner than jam or jelly, so I think it'll soak into the poundcake nicely, but not turn it to mush. When I put this together tomorrow, I'm going to do traditional layers. Poundcake, blackberries,pudding, poundcake, raspberries, pudding, poundcake, blueberries, pudding, poundcake, strawberries, pudding. I've made a basic version of this before, and it's always a huge hit. I think this is a great recipe you can have a lot of fun with modifying and adding your own personal touches to. *It went over REALLY well. I made a huge bow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Horseheads, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
This is a great easy recipe for a tasty dessert! My only modification was that I didn't add cool whip on top b/c my trifle bowl was already full with the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bethsanchez23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
This was awesome! SO good! A keeper! Used fresh berries though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Made it for a birthday party and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CINFUL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
First off, this is the ONLY dessert I have ever made where my husband asked for seconds...and he doesn't even like dessert! This was one of the best and most delicious recipes I have ever gotten from Allrecipes.com! I did, however, make the following changes: 1) In place of the cool whip, I used a pint sized container of heavy cream, whipped, and flavored w/ vanilla extract. I added approx 1 1/2 cups of the whipped cream to the custard mixture, and "frosted" the top of the trifle with the rest. 2) Instead of the blackberries, I used a 16 oz carton of frozen sliced sweetened strawberries in syrup. I thawed it in the microwave and spooned the syrup on the cake layers to moisten instead of the praline liqueur. 3) I made multiple layers of cake, berries and custard, instead of just one layer of cake on the bottom. 4) I used a 13 oz Entemann's All Butter Loaf Cake and it worked perfectly. This was SO delicious I can't even believe it! I definitely plan on making it for family and friends in the summer, when fresh berries are in season. Thanks for an AMAZING recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
So yummy everyone loved it.... gets really soggy fast though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscait21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Titusville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
This recipe is great! I did however make some modifications. I used Angel food cake instead of the pound cake. Used some orange juice and some strawberry syrup to moisten the cake instead of the praline liqueur. I also added extra cool whip than called for in order to create more layers. Then I decorated the top with fresh fruit. I took it to my work for my boss's birthday party potluck and it got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
Wonderful! It received rave reviews at a recent dinner party. I made with most the variants suggested by others (added extra milk to the pudding, layered the berries and topping, spread the pound cake with rasberry jam) and skipped the liquor and used homemade whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Very good, very easy. Looks pretty. A big hit at my daughter's daycare picnic over the summer-none left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
OK, I have made this recipe about 4 or 5 times now and people LOVE it!! So creamy and sweet, yet not too sweet. And when they are in season the berries are divine. Just love this recipe, it is a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chez Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moosic, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States