Berry Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I was camping and didn't have barley. But I dis have a box of "Raisin Bran" cereal flakes. This works nicely with any berry combination, (sugar accordingly). The flakes cook much faster too. Duane J
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I just didn't love this. It was not what I imagined it would be. First, definitely not a soup. It's a breakfast mash or porridge. It got really old after eating it for a couple breakfasts. Then I started warming it up and adding some milk, which made it better, but not great. As it is, it's expensive (cherries and frozen raspberries aren't cheap) and not that great for the price. Maybe substituting other kinds of fruit, like other reviewers suggested, would help, but I don't plan on checking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I adapted this recipe based on what I had on hand and it worked out really well. I didn't have any pearl barley so I used 3-4 Tablespoons of instant tapioca. I cut the water to three cups and used 3/4 C of Splenda instead of sugar. I kept the fruit at the same amounts. This cooked pretty quickly. I put the tapioca, water, raisins, and raspberries in a microwaveable container, and microwaved for about 10 minutes, stirring every five minutes. Then cooked for about another five minutes until it boiled. Then I added the cherries. It was still pretty thin because it thickens as it cools and the raisins disappeared completely. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Pretty good. Adding some fresh fruit gives it a little bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
This recipe is great as is. I like to experiment and tried it with bananas- not so good. Although I substituted peaches & mangos for the raspberries, cherries & raisins and it was VERY good. I use half the sugar when I make this and I like it. This is a fantastic recipe to personalize after you've made it once or twice. Time consuming, but worth the effort for the price and health- factors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Very different type of recipe, great for a quick breakfast with a piece of toast or a half bagel! I liked it although I was skeptical at first when I read the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I´m dutch and this in NOT a soup. It is a breakfast meal or a dessert. I had this a lot as a kid (my mom is great fan)and I´ll give her the recipe. But I really do not understand, why you placed it with soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
A good soup, but it's very sweet. Use a lot less sugar so that you're not eating so much sugar for your breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
This is a really nice change of pace. I especially think the cold fruit "soup" would be great on hot summer mornings. I topped it with toasted, mixed nuts and a little cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
Berrylicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAELSTROM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vashon, Washington, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Triple Berry Crisp

This crisp features an explosion of summery berry flavors. You'll love it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States