Berry Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
This is a really nice change of pace. I especially think the cold fruit "soup" would be great on hot summer mornings. I topped it with toasted, mixed nuts and a little cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2000
No matter what fruit you use it is great and if you use less water its great with jello or ice cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
I'm rating this a 5 for it's awesome potential, not becuase it was at all what I expected it to be. "Soup" is very misleading. I think I will make this often and use it to serve with plain non-fat yogurt, which will make a great snack, breakfast, or even a lunch. Right now I am eating it for lunch with plain yogurt and a cut up banana. Yum! It's very sweet and very thick -- I don't think I would eat it alone. Also, for all you first-time makers: be assured that it thickens up ALOT as it is chilling -- you do not have to get it completely thickened by cooking it (you will be cooking forever if you try). All in all, I'm very pleased with a healthy and tasty alternative, thank you for giving me something that I would never have discovered otherwise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
This recipe is great as is. I like to experiment and tried it with bananas- not so good. Although I substituted peaches & mangos for the raspberries, cherries & raisins and it was VERY good. I use half the sugar when I make this and I like it. This is a fantastic recipe to personalize after you've made it once or twice. Time consuming, but worth the effort for the price and health- factors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I adapted this recipe based on what I had on hand and it worked out really well. I didn't have any pearl barley so I used 3-4 Tablespoons of instant tapioca. I cut the water to three cups and used 3/4 C of Splenda instead of sugar. I kept the fruit at the same amounts. This cooked pretty quickly. I put the tapioca, water, raisins, and raspberries in a microwaveable container, and microwaved for about 10 minutes, stirring every five minutes. Then cooked for about another five minutes until it boiled. Then I added the cherries. It was still pretty thin because it thickens as it cools and the raisins disappeared completely. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I was camping and didn't have barley. But I dis have a box of "Raisin Bran" cereal flakes. This works nicely with any berry combination, (sugar accordingly). The flakes cook much faster too. Duane J
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Very different type of recipe, great for a quick breakfast with a piece of toast or a half bagel! I liked it although I was skeptical at first when I read the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2000
My kids were lukewarm on this one, until I doubled the barley and added a couple of pureed bananas! Now, the entire family enjoys this for breakfast. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
Berrylicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAELSTROM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vashon, Washington, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Pretty good. Adding some fresh fruit gives it a little bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States