Berry Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2000
No matter what fruit you use it is great and if you use less water its great with jello or ice cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2000
My kids were lukewarm on this one, until I doubled the barley and added a couple of pureed bananas! Now, the entire family enjoys this for breakfast. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
I'm rating this a 5 for it's awesome potential, not becuase it was at all what I expected it to be. "Soup" is very misleading. I think I will make this often and use it to serve with plain non-fat yogurt, which will make a great snack, breakfast, or even a lunch. Right now I am eating it for lunch with plain yogurt and a cut up banana. Yum! It's very sweet and very thick -- I don't think I would eat it alone. Also, for all you first-time makers: be assured that it thickens up ALOT as it is chilling -- you do not have to get it completely thickened by cooking it (you will be cooking forever if you try). All in all, I'm very pleased with a healthy and tasty alternative, thank you for giving me something that I would never have discovered otherwise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
Berrylicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAELSTROM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vashon, Washington, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
This is a really nice change of pace. I especially think the cold fruit "soup" would be great on hot summer mornings. I topped it with toasted, mixed nuts and a little cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
A good soup, but it's very sweet. Use a lot less sugar so that you're not eating so much sugar for your breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I´m dutch and this in NOT a soup. It is a breakfast meal or a dessert. I had this a lot as a kid (my mom is great fan)and I´ll give her the recipe. But I really do not understand, why you placed it with soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Very different type of recipe, great for a quick breakfast with a piece of toast or a half bagel! I liked it although I was skeptical at first when I read the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
This recipe is great as is. I like to experiment and tried it with bananas- not so good. Although I substituted peaches & mangos for the raspberries, cherries & raisins and it was VERY good. I use half the sugar when I make this and I like it. This is a fantastic recipe to personalize after you've made it once or twice. Time consuming, but worth the effort for the price and health- factors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Pretty good. Adding some fresh fruit gives it a little bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Summer Berry Parfait with Yogurt and Granola

Start your day with a yogurt parfait with lots of fresh fruit & crunchy granola.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States