Berry Rhubarb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 14, 2006
Excellent Pie! Only added 1/4 cup more of Rhubarb. Crust was old family secret. Mother-in-law used to make rhubarb pie - Husband said make again!! Thinking about making it for Farmers Market. Will add more rhubarb to home garden. Works for us - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
Just fabulous! This was the first pie I had ever made and it turned out looking really professional and tasting even better. Used the Butter Flaky Pastry recipe but otherwise did exactly as the recipe stated. Please don't be put off by the need to mix the filling and then leave it overnight - it's a little frustrating if you want pie NOW (as I did) but for a pie this good you'll be glad you made the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
Such an amazing recipe. My boyfriend ate at least a third of it! I brushed the crust with melted butter instead of the half and half since I didn't have any and it turned out great and perfectly golden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
Wonderful flavor! I would suggest instead of 50/50 the crust for top and bottom to use slightly more for the bottom 60/40. I also sprinkled some sugar on the berry mixture before I put the top crust on! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
This pie was awesome. I had a bunch of fruit that I wanted to use and a garden full of rhubarb so I ended up using around 6 or 7 cups of strawberries, cherries, raspberries, rhubarb, and apples to make this pie. I made a lattice crust for the top of the pie and ended up baking it for a little over an hour before I took it out of the oven, even though the crust really wasn't really browned. The color was awesome, as was the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
Made this recipe for Father's Day at my house and everyone loved it. t I feel that the berries are a good combination with the rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2005
I used blueberries, raspberries, strawberries, and rhubarb. All-in-all it turned out very yummy. I used about 8 cups of fruit, so I doubled the flour and used about 1 1/4 c. sugar. I usually don't make berry pies and have learned my lesson to let it sit overnight before cutting it. I couldn't help myself, cut into it warm and it was VERY runny - but the next morning it was all set up, so I think I had about the right measures of flour and sugar.. Just didn't have the patience to wait to eat it!!! The crust is perfect. I will use that recipe again for other pies. It's just the right mix of crunchy and flaky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2005
This is a fantastic pie! I too increased the amount of fruit and am very happy with the consistency. Great crust too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
Great flavor. Follwed the recipe exactly (except for using a Pillsbury crust) and it tasted great. However, as some of the other reviews said it was a bit too runny. I imagine it all depends on how fresh and "JUICY" your fruit is. I also added more fruit because it seemed a little scant for that size pie. With a few adjustments this could be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palatine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Jacksonville Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2004
The crust of this pie is the best and easiest I have tried. It is a "no fail crust. . . one I will use in all my future pie baking. The berry/rhubarb combination is a great taste too with the zesty taste of rhubarb mixed with the berries. Great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States