Berry Rhubarb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
Good, good recipe. I would agree to chill overnight and spoon the mix into the crust to avoid adding too much juice, the bottom of the crust was not mushy at all. I used strawberries, raspberries, rhubarb and huckleberries. (recommend cooking the rhubard with sugar, maybe a little water, to make a sauce, same with the huckleberries, to sweeten their tartness). Also is good with a crumble crust top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
Extremely good, I would highly recommend this pie. I did make one slight change due to the fact that my raspberries had gone bad (I used strawberries and blueberries in place of them), but otherwise made it as is. It was very good, and enjoyed by everyone. I do think that you can use more fruit than it calls for (which means you'd probably want to increase the sugar and flour as well), but it otherwise really needs no changes. Very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyoftheIvy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This pie is amazing! I used huckleberries instead of blackberries, and about 1 1/2 more berries than the recipe called for. I added a little more sugar/flour to account for the extra berries too. The crust was wonderful, flaky, and easy to make. This was my first time making a crust from scratch, and it turned out great. I'm definitely make this again, and will see how other berry combinations do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
OH-MY-GOSH!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Perfect for rhubarb lovers and rhubarb skeptics alike!!! I used my own crust recipe but I have never tasted a better berry rhubarb pie. I used the exact recipe for the filling and found it to fill the pie nicely though I am sure it would be fine to add more as others have suggested. I made this for my husbands birthday (he loves pie and hates cake.) It was a great success even with people who "normally don't like rhubarb."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
So far this summer, I've made a strawberry rhubarb pie, a raspberry rhubarb pie and now, last night, this pie. Hands down,this recipe is THE BEST! Don't be afraid to give it a try - it is SUPERB! It filled my house with such a pleasant aroma while baking. A definite winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2007
WOW! What a great way to use up all the rhubarb in my garden! I did make a few changes, doubled fruit, adding in apricots and black cherries, and I brushed the top with melted butter instead, then sprinkled with cinnamon and sugar. So amazingly good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antlers, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oxford, Oxfordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
This is a terrific recipe. I was looking for a recipe similar to one recently purchased from our local grocery store. This is the exact pie, with the addition of apple. I increased sugar to 1cup, added 1 tablespoon of cinnamon, and chopped 2 cups of apple to add to the fruit mix. I did not change anything - oh, I did not let it sit over night, we were eager for a pie for after dinner, so I let the frozen fruit sit in the bowl with the sugar/flour mixture while it thawed, and then I added it to the pie shell to cook. This is an easy favorite from here on out! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLEVANG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erin
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
WARNING: This pie is so amazing that it will cause arguements! I will make this again and again and again!! Thanks so much for this recipe! Like others, I added a little more fruit than called for. Be sure to spoon in the fruit and don't get too much of the juice or your pie will be runny. While the pie is a little time consuming don't jip yourself- make the crust! (It's the best!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
I'm not a berry person so I didn't try this but I made it for my husband and he loved it! Very easy to make and he just loved the combination of fruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States