Berry Rhubarb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by bakengrace
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
Lets put it this way I just planted 8 more rhubarb plants in my yard due to this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakengrace

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
I added a cup of sliced strawberrys and 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts - GREAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
This was my first pie from scratch, and it was divine! I followed other reviews and used 6 c of filling. 8 c would definitely have run over. I was very proud of my first scratch pie crust, and this recipe was easy to follow. The shortening + butter really hit the medium between flavor and flakiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
Absolutely delicious. Everyone's plate was licked clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
I added 1/2 cup extra of rhubarb and 1 cup extra of raspberries ,so I should have added a bit more sugar, but it was very tasty. Didn't use their recipe for pastry-used French pastry recipe instead--good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
My first berry pie and used the french pastry crust and it was the best pie ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
Turned out great! I almost doubled the fruit part like the others suggested and that made about enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
My favorite pie on the planet is a Strawberry Rhubarb Pie I've been making for probably 40 years and look forward to every spring. So making this pie was a real departure, and I only did so because I got a little carried away with my market's sale on berries. What a treat! I used 2 c. rhubarb, 2 c. raspberries, and a cup of blueberries, and simply added a tad more sugar and flour to compensate for the extra amount of berries. There is no need to start this the night before--just let the berries and rhubarb sit in the sugar/flour mixture until they start to release their juices, stirring every so often. Because rhubarb and raspberries are tart I omitted the lemon juice and was glad I did. I didn't bother with melting the butter, just dotted it with a little butter before slipping on the top crust. For those who are not big fans of rhubarb this may be a good recipe, as the rhubarb flavor is subtle. Rhubarb lovers might want to add more! Either way, this is a beautiful, jewel-toned pie that perfectly showcases the flavors of the season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
Good, good recipe. I would agree to chill overnight and spoon the mix into the crust to avoid adding too much juice, the bottom of the crust was not mushy at all. I used strawberries, raspberries, rhubarb and huckleberries. (recommend cooking the rhubard with sugar, maybe a little water, to make a sauce, same with the huckleberries, to sweeten their tartness). Also is good with a crumble crust top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
Extremely good, I would highly recommend this pie. I did make one slight change due to the fact that my raspberries had gone bad (I used strawberries and blueberries in place of them), but otherwise made it as is. It was very good, and enjoyed by everyone. I do think that you can use more fruit than it calls for (which means you'd probably want to increase the sugar and flour as well), but it otherwise really needs no changes. Very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyoftheIvy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States