Berry Good Smoothie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I used frozen berries (because I wanted to omit the ice) and because I have a child with an allergy to lactose, I used a lactose-free milk in place of the nonfat dry milk powder. This was just okay. REALLY wet and it really didn't have much flavor. I'd like to try this again but maybe play with the ingredients a bit. It's missing something but I'm not sure what it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Berry good! I subbed a peach for the nectarine and froze my strawberries and blueberries cutting down on the ice. I also used skim milk and a little vanilla yogurt vs. dry milk powder which is something I typically don't have on hand....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I make a similar smoothie every day but don't understand the need for the milk powder. I use a mix of frozen and fresh fruits and use fruit juice for the liquid. I never use ice because the frozen fruit adds all of the frozen parts needed and the smoothie doesn't get diluted by the melting ice. This can get expensive to make, so I buy the marked-down fruit at my local grocer and either use it fresh or freeze it. They sell big bags of bananas for $1.39. I keep out the freshest ones and peel and freeze the others. I've also found that papayas freeze well. I am a night eater and was gaining weight because I was eating ice cream in my sleep. Now, I make a blender full of smoothie every day and keep ice cream out of the house. I freeze the smoothie in different size contaiiners and eat it day and night. The weight issue is getting better, but the real surprise was how it made my skin look ten years younger. I try to use at least six different fruits when I can. Blend and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I felt this had no flavor. Despite all the blueberries, which usually are the dominant flavor when mixed with other stuff, it just tasted like a slightly blueberry-flavored milk. (Like chocolate milk made very weak.) I didn't taste nectarine at all. I wonder if smoothies just go better when they have milk, yogurt or juice... something besides just fruit, cause the last one I made w/little liquid was very bland as well. I added a bunch of juice concentrate to it to get some flavor. And it badly needs some liquid. I don't see why not just add some milk instead of just powder. Because of the lack of liquid, it was also extremely difficult to blend. If you scrape the sides a lot and blend forever, it does finally mix (and the ice turn to water), but it was difficult. Sorry, won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I don't care for the flavor of nonfat milk and am allergic to soy. I found a delicious way to make a similar smoothie. Use 1/4 cup of vanilla lowfat yogurt and V8 splash fruit medley or tropical blend. blend with whatever frozen fruit you have. I usually put blueberries and plums with the fruit medley, strawberries and peaches with the tropical blend. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Good smoothie! I added 1/2 scoop of protein supplement. I think that it needed a little of soy milk to get to the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Photo by JO~Lite
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Berry good indeed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JO~Lite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I found this utterly delicious. I frequently add ice cubes instead of water; the crushed ice melts and makes the smoothie more liquid while it chills it. Sometimes when the flavors are concentrated enough I keep adding ice cubes until it has the texture of a 7-11 slurpee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
This did not turn out good for me. I ended up just pouring it down the sink. It needed some liquid to it, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Kunkle Dunbar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fenton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2004
its so funky i would suggest u have it morning afternoon and after dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

All-Around Good Smoothie

See how to make a super-healthy fruit smoothie.

Basic Fruit Smoothie

Fresh fruit, fruit juice, and ice—that’s all there is to it!

B and L's Strawberry Smoothie

Fresh berries, skim milk, plain yogurt, and vanilla make a 5-star smoothie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States