Berry Good Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
I was surprised by the bad reviews. I just took the second one of these out of the oven, and wanted to see if anyone tried other fruits. This is truly delicious. Yes, the batter is thick. I used light sour cream instead of the yogurt, because I had it on hand. The secret is to barely mix the wet ingredients into the dry. Then use a spoon to spread the batter in the pan. I also drizzled the glaze on as soon as getting the cake out of the oven. This is yummy either hot, or room temp. Delicious and beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Perhaps the poor reviews came from those less experienced with this type of old-timey fruit dessert, like a slump, a pandowdy or a slumgullion; the dough is supposed to be "glumpy." As for me, I used vanilla yogurt (I had it on hand) and thus the cake was extra vanilla-y! I did bake it several minutes longer, but I like my cakes a bit more browned. I used frozen raspberries, my stash from last summer's fence row harvest, and I'm delighted with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
I thought this was a fabulous coffee cake! The ingredients were perfectly balanced, and it's a wonderful treat for those that choose to eat healthier. Obviously the bad reviews came from those who don't follow directions very well, as it turned out beautifully for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lincoln Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
This was just OK. Not very good. I had to add some milk to the batter because it was WAY too thick. Bland in flavor, and the raspberries make it soggy at the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lauraellen225
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This just may be the most spectacular recipe I've ever tried on this site (and I've tried many, many, many...). I made it as written except I added almond extract to the glaze. the dough (this is not batter) will absolutely be thick and sticky and not real easy to work with, but that is how it is supposed to be. I baked mine in a small glass cake pan and it turned out fantastic! I'm going to make another one right now to take to work with me (I have to share this deliciousness with the world!!). **Just made cake #2, this time with LEMON pudding and put lemon in the glaze. Oh my... Wish I had some poppyseeds...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauraellen225

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kinsman, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
If your looking for a traditional coffee cake type recipe, this is probably not for you. I really loved this coffee cake because it wasn't overly sweet and "cakey" like some coffee cakes can be. I didn't have any raspberries on hand so I substituted with frozen peaches and strawberries and absolutely LOVED it. I also subbed Greek yogurt for regular. I panicked a little when it came time to "pour" the batter because my batter was far from "pourable". Instead I used a greased spoon to spread it in the pan. I was surprised by how moist and springy the cake was (if you're concerned about it being TOO soggy, try reducing the amount of sugar added to the berries as this produces quite a bit of liquid). I can't wait to try this again with different fruit combinations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Turtle in the Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabethtown, New York, USA
Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
This was really delicious! I love that it's lower in fat and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Very, I mean berry good coffee cake. I used a combination of blackberries and raspberries and it turned out great. And only 2 tablespoons of butter makes it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Used a gluten free flour. Was unsure how it would turn out because didn't have much batter to drop over berries. Used frozen mixed berries. Turned out beautiful. The dough under the berries rose to top. Was amazing!!! The glaze on top was much needed as the cake is not very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tashjean
Home Town: Payson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I made this coffee cake for breakfast except I used frozen blueberries (because that's what I had). And followed the rest of the recipe as stated. Everything turned out just fine and it was really good. Thanks Sarah
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States