Berry Good Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
This was just OK. Not very good. I had to add some milk to the batter because it was WAY too thick. Bland in flavor, and the raspberries make it soggy at the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
this cake was not good had to add more milk to recipe and it was gooy I dumped it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
I was surprised by the bad reviews. I just took the second one of these out of the oven, and wanted to see if anyone tried other fruits. This is truly delicious. Yes, the batter is thick. I used light sour cream instead of the yogurt, because I had it on hand. The secret is to barely mix the wet ingredients into the dry. Then use a spoon to spread the batter in the pan. I also drizzled the glaze on as soon as getting the cake out of the oven. This is yummy either hot, or room temp. Delicious and beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
I thought this was a fabulous coffee cake! The ingredients were perfectly balanced, and it's a wonderful treat for those that choose to eat healthier. Obviously the bad reviews came from those who don't follow directions very well, as it turned out beautifully for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lincoln Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
I used blueberries and vanilla yogurt and no glaze - coffee cake was sweet enough and yummy. Yes, batter was thick, but manageable. I have made other coffee cakes where batter was this thick and it makes no difference. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
This is delicious. The girls at work loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
This was really delicious! I love that it's lower in fat and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Perhaps the poor reviews came from those less experienced with this type of old-timey fruit dessert, like a slump, a pandowdy or a slumgullion; the dough is supposed to be "glumpy." As for me, I used vanilla yogurt (I had it on hand) and thus the cake was extra vanilla-y! I did bake it several minutes longer, but I like my cakes a bit more browned. I used frozen raspberries, my stash from last summer's fence row harvest, and I'm delighted with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Overall, this had a really good texture and flavor. However, it didn't seem like there was much batter. I spread it all in the bottom of the pan, then topped with the raspberry mixture. I also added cinnamon to the batter. Good even without the glaze, straight from the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
Got great reviews with this recipe, altho I wasn't too thrilled. Changed it a bit so that maybe why. Used 1 cup of frozen blueberries and vanilla yogurt. Am going to try strawberries next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States