Berry Good Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by lauraellen225
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This just may be the most spectacular recipe I've ever tried on this site (and I've tried many, many, many...). I made it as written except I added almond extract to the glaze. the dough (this is not batter) will absolutely be thick and sticky and not real easy to work with, but that is how it is supposed to be. I baked mine in a small glass cake pan and it turned out fantastic! I'm going to make another one right now to take to work with me (I have to share this deliciousness with the world!!). **Just made cake #2, this time with LEMON pudding and put lemon in the glaze. Oh my... Wish I had some poppyseeds...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauraellen225

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kinsman, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
To all that attempt to make this...the batter is going to be thick. This is how the recipe is but do not fear. My daughter and I just made this and it is absolutely delicious! I love it and as easy as it is to make it is a keeper in my family's dessert menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dcis1970

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
If your looking for a traditional coffee cake type recipe, this is probably not for you. I really loved this coffee cake because it wasn't overly sweet and "cakey" like some coffee cakes can be. I didn't have any raspberries on hand so I substituted with frozen peaches and strawberries and absolutely LOVED it. I also subbed Greek yogurt for regular. I panicked a little when it came time to "pour" the batter because my batter was far from "pourable". Instead I used a greased spoon to spread it in the pan. I was surprised by how moist and springy the cake was (if you're concerned about it being TOO soggy, try reducing the amount of sugar added to the berries as this produces quite a bit of liquid). I can't wait to try this again with different fruit combinations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Turtle in the Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabethtown, New York, USA
Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Very, I mean berry good coffee cake. I used a combination of blackberries and raspberries and it turned out great. And only 2 tablespoons of butter makes it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Very thin in height, but very good in taste, mainly due to the berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Used a gluten free flour. Was unsure how it would turn out because didn't have much batter to drop over berries. Used frozen mixed berries. Turned out beautiful. The dough under the berries rose to top. Was amazing!!! The glaze on top was much needed as the cake is not very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tashjean
Home Town: Payson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
Got great reviews with this recipe, altho I wasn't too thrilled. Changed it a bit so that maybe why. Used 1 cup of frozen blueberries and vanilla yogurt. Am going to try strawberries next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Overall, this had a really good texture and flavor. However, it didn't seem like there was much batter. I spread it all in the bottom of the pan, then topped with the raspberry mixture. I also added cinnamon to the batter. Good even without the glaze, straight from the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Perhaps the poor reviews came from those less experienced with this type of old-timey fruit dessert, like a slump, a pandowdy or a slumgullion; the dough is supposed to be "glumpy." As for me, I used vanilla yogurt (I had it on hand) and thus the cake was extra vanilla-y! I did bake it several minutes longer, but I like my cakes a bit more browned. I used frozen raspberries, my stash from last summer's fence row harvest, and I'm delighted with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
This was really delicious! I love that it's lower in fat and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States