Berry-Filled Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
We have been making these for years. They are so easy to make and lots of fun(esp with little kids). We also make the plain version ... use a soda bottle cap to cut a hole in the middle of the biscuit and then fry. After cooking, put them in a brown paper bag (the bag will absorb extra oil) with sugar and cinnamon and let the kids shake away. Fry the "holes" too, the kids think they are munchkins. This is always fun to do on snowy winter nights or for sleep-overs!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
My family really enjoyed this recipe. I would have never thought this were possible but it worked out perfect. I made the biscuits with bisquick instead of the refrigerated ones and filled them with a lemon cream filling, this would also be good filled with a lemon curd! This was easy, easy, easy! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blessed momma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
Wow, these are terrific. We made them without filling. Also, we just prepared in a dutch oven since we didn't have a deep fryer. They came out wonderful. My 11 year old daughter was able to make on her own pretty much, but watch for the hot oil. Awesome! This will be perfect for when the kids have sleepovers. We served with sausage links and scrambled eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset Hills, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
These were really good and were easy to make. I did not fill them but I added the powdered sugar and they tasted like little funnel cake bites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ITALIANMOMOF3;)

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I need a better method of squirting the filling inside the doughnuts, but I really liked these. I was making my girls some cinnamon sugar and powdered sugar donut holes anyway, so I kept a few out and filled them with strawberry jam and rolled them in powdered sugar... I loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylaMayaCamrynMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Excellent recipe for cooking with children. Very easy and fun to do. I used a small saucepan over medium heat, as I do not have an electric skillet or deep fryer. I was able to cook 3 doughnuts at a time. Because I was low on vegetable oil, I melted Crisco shortening. It worked like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
So quick and easy! I filled these with Bavarian cream and dipped in chocolate ganache. Wonderful way to get quick, tasty doughnuts. I'd like to try apple pie filling with cinnamon/powdered sugar on top. This recipe can be very versatile - just use your imagination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Yeah. These were awesome. Just got done eating them. I filled them with chocolate and coconut cream pudding. My husband and I took a bite, looked at each other, and began wandering about the kitchen, eating one after another. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lord Burghley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
When I made them they were the best doughnuts in the world! I didn't need to change one thing. Love 'em so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I was skeptical, but now I'm a believer. These were amazing! I made them during Hanukkah and several friends asked for the recipe. Having made doughnuts for years, I will now throw away all other recipes and only use this one forever more. EASY and delicious. My only complaint? They don't last, so eat them within a couple of hours or less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia I.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bala Cynwyd, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States