Berry Custard Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I didn't make the crust, but the pie is wonderful. I did make a couple of minor changes. I did not add any of the spices. I used only raspberries (no blackberries). With those minor changes, this is the best raspberry pie I've ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I tried this recipe instead of a mixed berry cobbler, and wish I'd sticked with a cobbler. It was cake-ey rather than like a pie or a tart. With fresh ingredients, it was still a decent dessert served with vanilla ice cream and fresh whipped cream, but I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I Love this low fat awesome mixed berry pie. You can use any berries u like. I have made it many times and keep going back !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bomara29

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
This one is a keeper! We're on a low-fat heart diet, so it was great to find a tasty dessert Mom could enjoy! Everyone loves it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Absolutely love this, quick and easy, made it twice in 2 wks! I'm an absolute novice, so I admit I used a pre-made crust and added the lemon zest to the custard mixture. I bought frozen berries: raspberry, blueberry, blackberry variety and defrosted them, drained excess liquid. Everyone loved it, served best with whipped cream topping of course!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Very simple recipe that my 11 year old made. He used a graham cracker crust and that may have been some of the difference as there seemed to be something missing flavor-wise. The custard was nice but next time we may try a traditional egg custard and see what happens. Will make it again just because our family loves berries and we need new ways to use them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Wow! I loved this pie. My husband who doesnt really like custard also enjoyed this pie. I cannot tell this is low fat at all. The crust is not my favorite but still a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessica clark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Like Nalova, I found the dough mix to be quite sticky. You may want to keep the cooking spray handy so you can apply to your hands as needed for easier spreading. Or maybe add a little more baking mix to the dough mixture. It was well worth the effort -- it's a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
WOW!! I can't believe this is low fat!! I used only raspberries, and it was still awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
I liked this better than my boys & hubby. I am a lover of creamy-type desserts. My husband is more of a purist and I think the custard detracted from his berries! Because I bake for them mostly, I probably won't keep this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States