Berry Crumb Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Came upon this recipe while looking for one using blackberries (my granddaughter was begging me to take her blackberry picking) & noticed that others had adapted it for different kinds of berries. While making it I discovered that an extra 1/2 cup of berries was needed to make a single layer in the pan, I used 3/4 cup sugar as blackberries are more sour than raspberries & since other reviewers had complained of a bland flavored crust/crumbles I used 1/2 butter & 1/2 shortening. The berry mixture was still a bit tart & the crust/crumble mixture a bit sweet for my personal taste (next time I'll use 1 cup sugar for the blackberries & 3/4 cup sugar for the crust) but all in all a wonderful recipe that I'll make again & again with whatever fruit is in season here in the Pacific Northwest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Everybody really enjoyed these bars. I did use butter rather than shortening just due to personal preference. Mine was blueberry and sweetness level was just fine. Next time I will probably add a bit more cinnamon just, again, due to preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
It's excellent! I put 6 cups of berries in mine. I used raspberries, black raspberries, and blue berries. It turned out really good. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scarlet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Make it just like the reciepe states and you can not go wrong...I have my own Raspberries plants and needed a reciepe and tried this one... and I am glad I did! thanks Jan Taylor very good reciepe... I am going to try a different berry next time maybe even Plums let you all know how it turns out..Kim Thomas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K.Thomas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Terre Haute, Indiana, USA
Living In: Sebastian, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Scrumptious, easy to make what more could you ask for :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Served to Yorks. Better than crisp, more pastry like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ? allyson ?
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I considered making a pie today until I came across this recipe. I put more fruit in than the recipe calls for, approximately 6 cups. 2 cups each of strawberries, blueberries and raspberries. I added a half cup of oatmeal to the top crumble and used a half/half combination of shortening and butter. It is delicious. My husband says it's not as good as a pie but I disagree. It was also a lot less work than pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ? allyson ?

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
The crust needs more flavor. will add vanilla and more cinnamon to it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Excellent! I did add just a bit more sugar to my berries just because they were super tart frozen (well defrosted) berries and I knew they would need it, but this recipe is perfect! Yum! Will surely make again some day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandolynnd
Living In: Cordova, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
This is probably the best cobbler recipe I havw run across. I don't think it really needs much in the way of changes, but I made some anyway: used butter (of course), reduced the sugar in the dough by 1/4 cup, used 2 cups of whole wheat flour and one of white, used a mix of fresh berries (very ripe), and added more than a pinch of cinnamon and added a touch of mace. Beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAPATISTA234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States