Berry Crumb Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I made this for a work function and it was a huge hit! The tart from the berries really made these bars awesome. I did add a twist to my second batch - a cheesecake layer on top of the berries before sprinkling the crumbs. Sooooo good I got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
YUM! This recipe is amazing! I have been making it for almost a year and always get rave reviews. I use two fresh square packages each of blueberries and raspberries (so four total) and one package of blueberries. I also add extra cinnamon to the top before putting it in the oven. Absolutely wonderful. People are always asking for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Excellent!! I ended up using the entire crumb mixture on the bottom and making another half batch for the topping. I also added an extra 1.5 cups of frozen mixed berries. My berries came straight out of the freezer and into the mix baked up perfect!! Family couldn't stop coming back for more! If your worried it's not enough cinnamon (I love cinnamon) try the recipe first because it is a gentle taste but absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I picked fresh raspberries this summer and was looking for a great recipe. I found it! I did not alter it at all. I made it with both red and black raspberries. I even made it after I had frozen some of the berries and plan on making some for xmas !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Polly A. Long

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Urbana, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
followed other reviewers' advice about using 1/2 butter/1/2 shortening. Made for a potluck using frozen mixed berries - at first I thought the filling tasted too much like a Pop-Tart but everyone loved them and I've made it for several potlucks since then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
Add huckleberries and peaches to the raspberries, and voila, pops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama sher

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
These are absolutely divine! Instead of using raspberries, I used strawberries, and they still came out amazingly. My mom, teachers, and classmates all agreed that these were awesome! I really hope to make these again for my fellow drum majors and band directors for football season ^-^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tvan
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
This dessert was just so so. I don't like raspberries so I used blueberries and strawberries. Wasn't very sweet, kinda bland. Butter may have been a better choice than shortening. Although I'm not a big fan of berry type desserts. Others may like it a lot. I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tvan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
Made this while camping. I didn't think fresh raspberries would travel well so I used natural raspberry jam. It still came out awesome, the crust was very much like shortbread. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phairber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I loved these! They're addicting. I ate four on the first day I made them. I made them pretty close to the directions. I did not substitute for butter or use more sugar. I used a blueberry/raspberry/blackberry mix. The only thing I will recommend: do not use frozen fruit. I was in the freezer section looking for frozen cranberries when i realized I would have to switch to this recipe, so I just grabbed the bag mix. Everything turned out okay, but I did drain a lot of liquid after thawing the berries and was concerned with how it would effect the sugar and cornstarch. They still turned out great, I love that berry combo, but I will definitely use fresh next time. I prefer fresh, I was just too lazy to walk all the way to the other side of the store again. Oh, and I did substitute half the sugar for Truvia in both the crust and berries, just to cut down on sugar and calories. Again, they tasted great, so for those of you watching your sugar intake, there is no problem substituting at least some of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States