Berry Crumb Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pam
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Okay...first of all I used fresh blueberries and was concerned that as the blueberries gave off their juices, it would turn out to liquidy. But it was fabulous! The corn starch really did it's job. Finally a fruit bar that's not sickening sweet! It's perfect and the crumb crust and topping doesn't steal the show from the fruit...which is how it should be. I didn't feel guilty eating these at all! Wonderful recipe and super simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 26, 2009
My original intent was to make a mixed berry pie today, but laziness got the better of me and I made this instead - the point being, it is EASY - and with little effort I had something fresh, pretty and delicious! I pulsed the dry ingredients in the food processor, then pulsed in the shortening and, finally, the egg, which I beat slightly with a teaspoon of vanilla. I found this method quick, easy and it crumbled beautifully. For the fruit I used a mix of fresh blueberries, raspberries and strawberries. Mine was perfectly done at 45 minutes, although I started to check it at 35. The results were perfect. Just as good as a crumb topped mixed berry pie and so much quicker to throw together. Very nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Celeste
Reviewed: May 12, 2008
I used blackberries, extra sugar mixed in the berries, and butter as suggested by reviewers, a little more cinnamon and it was perfect. The flavor really came together after sitting for a day or two, the crumb mix was kind of bland the first day, and on the third it had the best flavor. Can't wait to try it with raspberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
I tell you what! If people would only make this recipe as is they would find it WONDERFUL! No tweaking! This deserves five stars!! You can try other fillings but the rasberry is far the best!! Thanks for an easy recipe! It didn't last long in my house and I've made it three times already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northglenn, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Took these into work and they were devoured within minutes! I took the advice of others and used butter instead of shortening and doubled the amount of sugar on the berries. Very tasty and easy to make. Next time, I will combine all of the dry ingredients first for the crust, then add the butter and egg. I will also use a food processor to cut the butter into the flour mixture. This should help make the mixture a little more crumbly, like small pebbles. I had to work pretty hard to cut the butter into the flour mixture by hand! Thanks, Jan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jensenly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
Remember the Seinfield episode about how everyone loves the tops of muffins and don't want the rest of the muffin? This recipe solves that problem. When I'm in a hurry, I'll make these with either raspberry or blueberry canned pie filling...either way, they are simply wonderful and disappear very quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2002
Very easy and very good! I have made them with berries, peaches and crushed pineapple. Each time it turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
Scrumptious and super easy to make! I used Splenda for Baking to reduce calories and sugar content and it was still delicious! My family and friends ate it so fast! Make sure to let it cool completely before you try and cut it into bars or they will be a little mushy. Next time I will try whole wheat flour to increse the healthfulness and see how it tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nwgirl
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Simple recipe and end results were awesome. Used mixed frozen berries (frozen berries, no sugar added), consisting of strawberries, blueberries, raspberries, and blackberries. Used butter instead of shortening, just because. Also added a tsp of almond extract to the crumb mixter and brown sugar to the topping. Cut them into small bars after they cooled and they are so incredibly yummy. Hubby and I both agree, FIVE STARS! I will absolutely make them again and again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nwgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2000
These came out very good but a little tart. I would use maybe blueberries the next time or add more sugar to the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States