Berry Crumb Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Came upon this recipe while looking for one using blackberries (my granddaughter was begging me to take her blackberry picking) & noticed that others had adapted it for different kinds of berries. While making it I discovered that an extra 1/2 cup of berries was needed to make a single layer in the pan, I used 3/4 cup sugar as blackberries are more sour than raspberries & since other reviewers had complained of a bland flavored crust/crumbles I used 1/2 butter & 1/2 shortening. The berry mixture was still a bit tart & the crust/crumble mixture a bit sweet for my personal taste (next time I'll use 1 cup sugar for the blackberries & 3/4 cup sugar for the crust) but all in all a wonderful recipe that I'll make again & again with whatever fruit is in season here in the Pacific Northwest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Everybody really enjoyed these bars. I did use butter rather than shortening just due to personal preference. Mine was blueberry and sweetness level was just fine. Next time I will probably add a bit more cinnamon just, again, due to preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
It's excellent! I put 6 cups of berries in mine. I used raspberries, black raspberries, and blue berries. It turned out really good. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scarlet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Make it just like the reciepe states and you can not go wrong...I have my own Raspberries plants and needed a reciepe and tried this one... and I am glad I did! thanks Jan Taylor very good reciepe... I am going to try a different berry next time maybe even Plums let you all know how it turns out..Kim Thomas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K.Thomas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Terre Haute, Indiana, USA
Living In: Sebastian, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Scrumptious, easy to make what more could you ask for :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Served to Yorks. Better than crisp, more pastry like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ? allyson ?
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I considered making a pie today until I came across this recipe. I put more fruit in than the recipe calls for, approximately 6 cups. 2 cups each of strawberries, blueberries and raspberries. I added a half cup of oatmeal to the top crumble and used a half/half combination of shortening and butter. It is delicious. My husband says it's not as good as a pie but I disagree. It was also a lot less work than pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ? allyson ?

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
The crust needs more flavor. will add vanilla and more cinnamon to it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Excellent! I did add just a bit more sugar to my berries just because they were super tart frozen (well defrosted) berries and I knew they would need it, but this recipe is perfect! Yum! Will surely make again some day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandolynnd
Living In: Cordova, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
This is probably the best cobbler recipe I havw run across. I don't think it really needs much in the way of changes, but I made some anyway: used butter (of course), reduced the sugar in the dough by 1/4 cup, used 2 cups of whole wheat flour and one of white, used a mix of fresh berries (very ripe), and added more than a pinch of cinnamon and added a touch of mace. Beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAPATISTA234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States