Berry Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
Here's a tip, don't use frozen berries. It got soggy in the places where the fruit had thawed while baking. The dough tasted great, but the baked taste was a little lacking for me. Perhaps it would work better with sweetened fresh berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2004
This was nothing like a cobbler. It should be called Berry Coffeecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2003
This was by far the worst dessert that I've ever made! I cannotr believe that it has managed to get 4 stars! It was raw in the middle and that was after letting it cook for an additional 20 minutes than the recipe called for. Also, if you are looking for a "cobbler" this is NOT it! This is pretty much just a glorified muffin. Bottom line... I was totally embarrassed and dissapointed when I served this dessert on Christmas Eve. I couldn't even eat it and told my guests that it wouldn't hurt my feelings if they didn't like it. If you are looking for a nice cobbler recipe... keep lookin'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
After reading other reviews I was prepared for 'cake.' What I got was a dessert bread with a strong taste of baking powder. Surprisingly, I only needed the stated 35 minutes to cook. Perhaps it's an altitude thing. This recipe needs more tweaking to be worth my time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
We had just picked a quart of blackberries (4 cups) so we doubled this recipe. I wanted more of a cobbler so I dumped the berries in a 9x13 pan and then put the crust mixture on top. I sprinkled some sugar on it and baked it for almost 55 minutes. It was absolutely delicious and gone in 2 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2003
This is good, but it's definitely not a cobbler. I used blueberries, and it was just a giant blueberry muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2003
Excellent recipe. Very moist and not as sinful as a regular cobbler. I used fresh wild blackberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2003
This was delicious!!! I had some family coming over for a last minute visit so I needed to prepare something quick and this fit the bill. I used frozen mixed berries I purchased from the store and had left over from another recipe. And when those were not enough I added a few frozen cranberries. They all loved it. I did follow a reviewers advice and sprinkled sugar on top before baking and baking time is definitely too short. I left mine in 15 minutes longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 17, 2003
Pretty easy to make. I used a combination of raspberries and blackberries and used more than the 2 cups that the recipe called for. I also just poured part of the batter over top of the fruit as I thought too much batter was made anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
I was actually looking for more of a cake or buckle, so when i read the reviews describing this as such i gave it a try. My family adores this recipe. It tastes like a cobbler but is a cake, it's great. I find, though, that i had to cook it almost 55 minutes... so I would advise checking it every 5 minutes after the recommended 40.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Best Ever Blueberry Cobbler

This cobbler is bursting with blueberry flavor, a great summer dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States