Berry Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2004
If you are looking for a cobbler this is NOT it. Terrible recipe and a waste of wonderful blackberries. I wish I could give it a rating of zero. DON"T USE THIS RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2004
This recipe was an AWFUL recipe if you were looking for a cobbler recipe. However if you are looking for a muffin or bread recipe this is a GREAT recipe. You will need more time than was designated, I needed 10 extra minutes. I also substituted frozen blackberries for the raspberries and the recipe still turned out ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
Here's a tip, don't use frozen berries. It got soggy in the places where the fruit had thawed while baking. The dough tasted great, but the baked taste was a little lacking for me. Perhaps it would work better with sweetened fresh berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2004
This was nothing like a cobbler. It should be called Berry Coffeecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2003
This was by far the worst dessert that I've ever made! I cannotr believe that it has managed to get 4 stars! It was raw in the middle and that was after letting it cook for an additional 20 minutes than the recipe called for. Also, if you are looking for a "cobbler" this is NOT it! This is pretty much just a glorified muffin. Bottom line... I was totally embarrassed and dissapointed when I served this dessert on Christmas Eve. I couldn't even eat it and told my guests that it wouldn't hurt my feelings if they didn't like it. If you are looking for a nice cobbler recipe... keep lookin'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
After reading other reviews I was prepared for 'cake.' What I got was a dessert bread with a strong taste of baking powder. Surprisingly, I only needed the stated 35 minutes to cook. Perhaps it's an altitude thing. This recipe needs more tweaking to be worth my time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
We had just picked a quart of blackberries (4 cups) so we doubled this recipe. I wanted more of a cobbler so I dumped the berries in a 9x13 pan and then put the crust mixture on top. I sprinkled some sugar on it and baked it for almost 55 minutes. It was absolutely delicious and gone in 2 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2003
This is good, but it's definitely not a cobbler. I used blueberries, and it was just a giant blueberry muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2003
Excellent recipe. Very moist and not as sinful as a regular cobbler. I used fresh wild blackberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2003
This was delicious!!! I had some family coming over for a last minute visit so I needed to prepare something quick and this fit the bill. I used frozen mixed berries I purchased from the store and had left over from another recipe. And when those were not enough I added a few frozen cranberries. They all loved it. I did follow a reviewers advice and sprinkled sugar on top before baking and baking time is definitely too short. I left mine in 15 minutes longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 71-80 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Best Ever Blueberry Cobbler

This cobbler is bursting with blueberry flavor, a great summer dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States