Berry Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
I was actually looking for more of a cake or buckle, so when i read the reviews describing this as such i gave it a try. My family adores this recipe. It tastes like a cobbler but is a cake, it's great. I find, though, that i had to cook it almost 55 minutes... so I would advise checking it every 5 minutes after the recommended 40.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
This is more like a 'buckle' than a cobbler, but so yummy. I followed the recipe as written, (had to add more milk & bake longer, about an hour.) I used blackberries, cause I'd been out picking them. I topped it w/crumb topping as in the 'Blueberry Buckle', recipe found in this site, & drizzled with glaze after it cooled. Made one for my friend & her family also & they all loved it. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2005
This is DEFINATELY NOT a cobbler, but a pretty good coffee cake. It needed a glaze. I made a glaze for it. 1/2 cup powdered sugar, 1/2 teaspoon almond extract, 2 teaspoons water. It was very good on the cake. My family ate it up. I also made it with frozen raspberries. I didn't have any problems with the raspberries being frozen. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
awsome!! i used two cups of frozen mixed berries, i mixed one cup with the dough and spread the rest on top, that made it more like a cobbler then like a muffin or cake as others had stated... i will for sure be making this again!! super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2001
Great, quick recipe! The cobbler was cake-like, so it could easily be served as a coffeecake for breakfast. I used 1 cup raspberries and 1 cup blueberries -- turned out very pretty! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2003
This was by far the worst dessert that I've ever made! I cannotr believe that it has managed to get 4 stars! It was raw in the middle and that was after letting it cook for an additional 20 minutes than the recipe called for. Also, if you are looking for a "cobbler" this is NOT it! This is pretty much just a glorified muffin. Bottom line... I was totally embarrassed and dissapointed when I served this dessert on Christmas Eve. I couldn't even eat it and told my guests that it wouldn't hurt my feelings if they didn't like it. If you are looking for a nice cobbler recipe... keep lookin'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
Have used this recipe several times, with different berries including strawberrys. I recommend sampling your berrys and adjust your suger accordingly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Towanda, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2002
This is definitely more of a cake/muffin than a cobbler, but it was very good. I added blackberries, and sprinkled the top with cinnamon and sugar. Make sure it bakes long enough, I kept mine in about 10 minutes longer than the recipe called for and it was baked all the way through. Really good served warm with ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2001
Best if served with Butter on the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
we were very disappointed in this recipe -- NOT a cobbler -- more like a cake and very heavy. Not a favorite with our family -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Best Ever Blueberry Cobbler

This cobbler is bursting with blueberry flavor, a great summer dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States