Berry Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
This is a very easy recipe, however it does need to bake about 50 minutes. It is not overly sweet and would make a great brunch dish. I made a glaze with 1 cup of powdered sugar and juice from 1/2 of a lemon, it was the right amount of sweet/sour to put a finishing tough on this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
If you're looking for a "cobbler" please keep looking. If you're looking for a great snack cake you've found it! My family loved this cake. I did make some changes. First I substituted canola oil for the butter. I also added 1 tsp. of cinnamon and 1/3 cup mini chocolate chips to the batter. Baking time was closer to 60 minutes. I kept checking every 5 minutes after 40. We are always on the lookout for recipes that will work in a Dutch oven and my son's scout troop is going to try this one out the next time they camp; using frozen raspberries instead of fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
I have a habit of changing recipes, so I'm afraid I can't vouch for the true deliciousness of the recipe as written, but what I made was very tasty! I replaced the AP flour with whole wheat pastry flour (which made the end result a little chewier than it probably should be) and I reduced the volume of sugar by half (and substituted Splenda, anyway), and used applesauce in place of the butter. I had to add another 1/3 cup milk, possibly because of the whole wheat flour, but others said they needed more liquid, too. Used blueberries, baked for 40 minutes, and for me, that was enough. I cut the result into 16 small-ish squares (out of an 8x8 pan) and they are only about 75 calories/square. Excellent for when I need a low cal sweet treat! Freezes and thaws quite well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
Pretty Good : ) I had to bake almost 1 hour. I used fresh raspberries that I had bought and put in the freezer until I decided what I was going to do with them. Thanks for a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Littlepammie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
very good. I used fresh raspberries and the cake was very moist. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
This is definitely a cake like dessert. It's not a cobbler. Not too bad but not what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ldilalla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
I have made this recipe many times now. It's my husbands favorite! He likes it better than traditional Cobbler. I make it and serve it with Vanilla ice cream and a berrie puree. I use all different berries. It does however take closer to an hour to cook. Fantastic easy and quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
I just made this with fresh blackberries, and it turned out great. It is more like a coffee cake than a cobbler as other reviewers have stated, but it is still fantastic. I baked it for about 45 minutes. I also drizzled a lemon glaze over each piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
This was an exceptional berry cobbler. My cooking class of very young students gobbled it up! Easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Little Rock, Iowa, USA
Living In: Plumas Lake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
it turned out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Best Ever Blueberry Cobbler

This cobbler is bursting with blueberry flavor, a great summer dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States