Berry Burst Sorbet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Here is one way to test for sweetness: "Egg Test for Sorbet. The best sorbets are made not by exact measurements, but rather by balancing the sweetness of a particular batch of fruit to assure the best flavor and consistency. Too much sugar will prevent the sorbet from freezing and will overwhelm the fruit; too little makes an unpleasantly tart, icy sorbet. To achieve the optimal balance, rinse a raw egg and carefully drop it, in its shell, into the fruit mixture. When the mixture is in balance, the egg will be partially floating, exposing a circle the size of a dime to a nickel above the surface." (Tip from food website.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
Refreshing and tasty! I made a simple syrup with a half cup water, half cup sugar, heating until dissolved, and opted for a true sorbet by omitting the cream - although it would make a very nice frozen dessert with it. I always taste the fruit first, and since my berries were sweet I knew the reduced sugar would work in this. I pureed the blueberries, raspberries and blackberries in my blender - maybe a food processor would grind the seeds better, but I definitely needed to strain the mixture to get the seeds out. It was a little soft when done - perhaps because I used fresh instead of frozen fruit? - but I popped it in the freezer for about 20 minutes and ended up with the firmer texture I was looking for. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
This is so good! I used 3/4 cup regular white sugar with the 1 cup water and a bag of frozen mixed fruit with the heavy cream and it was so good. It froze perfectly in the freezer after I took it out of the ice cream maker. Will make this a lot over the summer!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoleneMiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Port Orange, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2006
Excellent! I changed this a little -- I used strawberries, blueberries, and raspberries, sugar instead of Splenda, and half & half. It turned out great. Next time, I will probably cut the sugar down to a 1/2 cup if I use strawberries again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
This is a very good combination of flavors. Being a Splenda user, I believed the 1 cup quantity was too much so I cut it back to 1/2 cup. For my taste, that seemed about right. The second time I made this, I used 1 cup vanilla yogurt and that is awesome! Thank you for this recipe, Pamela.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Harvey, daPITA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
Maybe SPLENDA isn't the best idea for sorbets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I made this sorbet with all blackberries since I had so many left over from baking a pie. I used organic sugar instead of Splenda and it came out awesome! I will use this recipe again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
easy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
This recipe is great! The texture and the taste was wonderful. I LOVE rasberry sorbet so instead of blackberries and blueberries, I only used raspberries. Also I used regular white sugar. I also used heavy whipped cream, but for my next batch I am going to omit it for more of a sorbet taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
This recipe is *very* sweet; unless you have an incredible sweet tooth, cut the Splenda down to about 3/4 cup, or add a couple tablespoons of lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Lemon Berry Slushy

See how to make a chilly lemon and berry slushy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States