Berry Burst Sorbet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
Refreshing and tasty! I made a simple syrup with a half cup water, half cup sugar, heating until dissolved, and opted for a true sorbet by omitting the cream - although it would make a very nice frozen dessert with it. I always taste the fruit first, and since my berries were sweet I knew the reduced sugar would work in this. I pureed the blueberries, raspberries and blackberries in my blender - maybe a food processor would grind the seeds better, but I definitely needed to strain the mixture to get the seeds out. It was a little soft when done - perhaps because I used fresh instead of frozen fruit? - but I popped it in the freezer for about 20 minutes and ended up with the firmer texture I was looking for. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
Yum, anything this sweet should be added to every summer meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
This never set up. I make ice cream and sorbet on a regular basis and never have a problem. I got so frustrated, I left it on my porch. I got an interesting berry wine, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cthomasgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I made this using a bag of mixed frozen fruit and berries without the cream, and I cut the sugar in half. It turned out great, like a really fruity awesome sorbet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
EXCELLENT & BEAUTIFUL color sorbet. I used fresh raspberries that I picked yesterday. Also used 1 cup of regular sugar instead of the Splenda. Then followed the rest of the directions. In my opinion, this recipe wasn't too sweet for me with the full cup of sugar. I will make this again & again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
WOW!!! This was excellent. I just used raspberries which I picked in my garden and froze. Even the grandkids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
I agree the sweet factor is too high!!! I taste tested along the way and a cup would have been way too much! I used frozen strawberries and resberries and a few fresh blue beries and it was umm umm good! I used no cream as I am alergic it honestly it didn't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
This recipe is great! The texture and the taste was wonderful. I LOVE rasberry sorbet so instead of blackberries and blueberries, I only used raspberries. Also I used regular white sugar. I also used heavy whipped cream, but for my next batch I am going to omit it for more of a sorbet taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
Very good sorbet. I added the full cup of sugar, but with 2 teaspoons of lemon juice, but it was still too sweet. I agree with the other reviews that 3/4 cup of sugar or less would be suficient. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, Michigan, USA
Living In: Leawood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
Excellent! I changed this a little -- I used strawberries, blueberries, and raspberries, sugar instead of Splenda, and half & half. It turned out great. Next time, I will probably cut the sugar down to a 1/2 cup if I use strawberries again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Triple Berry Crisp

This crisp features an explosion of summery berry flavors. You'll love it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States