Berry Bread Pudding with Brown Sugar Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
This turned out wonderful! I'm not real familiar with bread pudding and this was probably my third attempt at this type of dish. I was unsure as how long I should bake it. After 45 min. it didn't look done and center wasn't even near set. I ended up adding another 45 min. to the baking time. During that time I also made sure berries were tucked down into the bread so as not to burn. The end result was a fabulous mixture of gooey and crispy! The sauce topping was wonderful. Three things I did differently was used margarine instead of butter to grease baking dish, three layers of regular white store bought bread, and used about 3 cups black berries. No strawberries. My husband loved it. (And didn't want to share.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This was wonderful, even though I made substituted frozen blueberries. It cooked a lot longer than recommended, but I think that was because I just kind of used what I had on hand as far as 'dry bread' instead of following the recipe exactly. Next time I think I'll make it in two 8 X 8 dishes. It had a wonderful texture and the sauce was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Realmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
this is a great different bread pudding. thepumpkin pie spice lends a surprising lilt to the berries. i make a mango bread pudding with stale croissants, i think i will try the pie spice in there next time i make it. vive la bread pudding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I found this recipes a few years ago and forgot to review it. I was surprised that it did not have more reviews. This recipe is delicious! I did not have enough french bread so I used half french and half croissant. I also used the frozen berry mix from Costo and added 1 cup more - fabulous!! I also used cream cheese, confectioners sugar, vanilla and brandy for the sauce - Wow! I have also used Agave Syrup in place of some of the sugar. Great Recipe! Give it a try. Thanks Jeannie for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYL UTLEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
The bread pudding part deserves five stars. Perfect texture and flavor. I took it to a dinner party and everyone agreed the sauce was not the right flavor for the pudding. It was fine, but definetly missed that wow factor you get in fine restaurants. I think I will try it with a carmel sauce or vanilla sauce next time. Thanks for the bread pudding, it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Im giving this 4 because I only made the sauce, it was YUMMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
This was my first attempt at bread pudding and it turned out amazing. I used a vanilla bean instead of extract. I scraped the inside of the bean and put it in the milk along with the vanilla pod and let it soak for a few hours. Removed the pod before making the egg mixture. I used all blackberries and it was great. Definitely, DEFINITELY make the brown sugar sauce, even just the littlest drizzle over the top makes the dessert even more amazing. I loved this so much I made it twice in one week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
Great recipe...though I changed it a bit to be more figure friendly. I used skim milk, only (1) cup of splenda, egg beaters, and whole wheat french bread. I added some nutmeg as well. I used blueberries and rasberries along with the strawberries and blackberries (which was delicious!!). I also didn't make the sauce as the pudding was sweet enough already. I cooked in a glass dish and had to cook it for about an 1hr 30min rather than the stated 45-50 min, or it would have been really soggy. I put foil over the top for the last 30 minutes so the top didn't burn. I also made sure and tucked all my fruit under the bread so it wouldn't burn as stated by other reviewers. Bread pudding is my FAVORITE dessert and I have to say that this was among the best I have eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
YUM! I made this tonight. It is the first time that I made bread pudding. It was SO good! I used leftover Italian bread from a pasta dinner earlier in the week. The berries made it feel a bit more summery than what I usually think of when I think of bread pudding. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carbondale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I made this for dessert last night and everyone loved it, even my husband who claims he hates any bread pudding. I followed the recipe exactly except the cooking time, I had to add an extra 30 minutes and I didn't have very many blackberries so I added a few blueberries, also I added pecans. I've made several different bread puddings and this is one of my new favorites. The mix of the berries and the brown sugar sauce is great. It tastes even better the next day! Make sure that you use a good french bread and that it's definately stale, trust me it makes a difference. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States