Berry Almond Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
Wow - this recipe deserves more than five stars. It's amazing - rich and decadent. I doubled the recipe and baked it in a 10 x 15 jelly roll pan. Next time I think I'll use a 9 x 13 pan and get a thicker bar. I did use more raspberry preserves than the recipe called for, and added about 1 cup of flaked coconut to the preserves. Next time I make them, and there will most definitely be a next time, I will spread the preserves to about 1/4 inch from the edge of the bottom crust. I spread them all the way to the edge this time, and it made getting them from the pan a little tricky. For such amazing flavor and texture, this recipe was amazingly quick and easy. Thank you for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2003
very rich and decadent! Doubled the recipe and baked in a 10X15. Used seedless red raspberry jam. Thanks Connie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2002
I went to a catered party and they served these almond bars that everyone was raving about. I came home and searched by ingredient on the site and found this recipe. This is it!! These bars are so delicious and easy to make. They are elegant - very pretty with the ribbon of jam in the middle. Nice for a simple snack or for a more formal occasion. Connie, thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
I made this recipe 3 times in 3 weeks each time to rave reviews and pleas for the recipe. I doubled each batch and baked on a cookie sheet. The first time I made them, I followed the recipe to a t- I learned quickly, like other reviewers that increasing the jam creates a lucious and moist bar. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
i thought these were great and so did the friends i made them for... which was most important:). they were so moist, yummy and easy. i didn't get any complaints, but personally i would cut the sugar to 1/4c. the white choco gives a lot of sweetness. i would also bump up the jam to 3/4c. i would have liked a little more jam. i used raspberry jam. next time i will try lemon curd or lemon bar filling in place of the jam because i think lemon would taste amazing with white choco base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This is the same recipe as "Almond Raspberry Diamonds" on this site. Either way, the recipe is fantastic. I have made it no less than four times in the past three weeks for various holiday events. I always double the recipe. I pretty much make it as-is written, with just a touch more flour (just enough that my batter is nice and thick). I've found that this reduces any chance for "butter fingers" when you're eating them. Also be sure that when your baking the bottom crust layer, you get it good and golden brown.....this prevents a the jam and top layer from turning the middle of the bars too gooey. Funny that with all the white choclolate, there is no white chocolate taste.....unlike other reviewers, I would not make this with other kinds of chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
These turned out very moist and delicious. I added some extra flour. I will add more preserves next time. I used an 8x8 pan which made the bars thicker and more cake-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ida, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
Sorry, I didn't think these were good at all. Because I didn't have time to make something else, I had to serve them to my book club and I was a little embarrassed and did not receive one comment on them. My husband thought they were ok but I thought they were WAY too sweet with very little raspberry flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Wow were these buttery and way too sweet - and this coming from someone who previously thought there was no such thing as "too sweet". I might try again and decrease the amount of butter and chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
Made these along with 3 other bar cookies for my Nephew's graduation party. Everyone was raving! Asking who made them, what was in them, and could they have the recipe. Bless You Connie for sharing this with us!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States