Berries and Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2002
The reason I'm giving this recipe a review because my grandpa is diabetic and he doesn't get many sweets or treats so this will be a real treat thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
The cream taste similar to the inside of a cannolli but not as heavy. I didn't want to open a can of non-fat evaporated milk for just a tablespoon and used regular milk with no problems. Using the marsala wine gave it a taste like zabayon. I would think a dash of vanilla would be good if you don't have or want to use marsala wine. This cream isn't smooth like whipped cream and never will be but is still very very good. I liked it so much I had it with a berry topping and not berries with it topping them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2002
This came out a little too thick and too bland for me. I tripled the sugar and wine and was happy with how it came out. I made it with raspberries and blueberries (no good strawberries were available), but I use strawberries in the future. The blueberries weren't sweet enough to taste right with the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANVEAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaines, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holt, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I love fresh berries and "cream", meaning "whipped cream" so I thought I'd give this a try. And while the concept is good, I found I do like things a little sweeter and ended up folding in some homemade "whipped cream" into the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
AMAZING!!!! This was SO yummy! I put this on top of many other desserts, and it works so well! The only changes I make are that I add whipped cream to it and I add a little vanilla. The vanilla makes such a big difference. DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Toasted some macadamia nuts because the store didn't have hazelnuts, otherwise, followed the recipe. This was OK, but I wasn't crazy about the ricotta cream. Even after beating with a mixer, the texture was "grainy" for a lack of a better word, not creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2004
Fast and easy...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
This was a nice new recipe (a "grown-up" treat), but since I have a big sweet tooth, I think I would prefer whipping cream to ricotta. I used raspberries instead of blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
I wasn't very thrilled with this recipe. The ricotta flavor was strong even though I didn't use a full cup. I had to use Sherry instead of Marsala b/c that's all I had, so that may have had something to do with it. It was kind of thick and needed to be sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Or use 3/4 lb. fresh ricotta 1/4 cup heavy cream and 1 tsp. vanilla and whip about 1.5 mins. Spread on a platter and top with the fruit. Drizzle with honey and a sprinkle of freshly ground black pepper and garnish with mint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Mascarpone Brulee with Fresh Berries

See how to make a simple but impressive summer fruit dessert.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States