Bermuda Spinach Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
I think the serving size listed for this recipe is incorrect. It says: serves 6. Two pounds of spinach is a huge amount, even as the main meal, this would probably feed more. Assuming you're serving it as a side salad, this recipe (using 2 lbs of spinach) should feed about 24 people. I scaled this recipe back to get the correct amount needed for 6 people (I would allow one egg per person though). It worked great. I would strongly suggest that you make your own croutons using the GARLIC CROUTON recipe submitted by Cathy Hofmann. It's wonderful!! Time saving tips: 1. don't use a blender, put everything into a wide mouth bottle (like a 16 oz Gatorade bottle) and shake it up. No blender to clean and you can toss the bottle! 2. use REAL bacon already cooked and crumbled at the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
215 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2002
Very good recipe! I took the suggestions of cutting down the sugar about 1/2. It turned out great...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2002
This was very good. My husband who normally will not touch spinach loved it. I did add more mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
This is a great spinach salad recipe. Especially for those of us who live in a warm climate (FL) and don't need a "hot dressing" all the time. I used a red onion the first time I made the recipe, and the dressing came out a nice pink color in contrast to the green spinach. One egg per person is the way to go, and I only used one bag of spinach for six people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
WOW! What a salad. I have made this so many times and the bowl is always empty!! I have also used the dressing on other in other salads. The dressing is great on plain lettuce. I usually use bacon that is precooked from the store and have also added feta cheese, almonds and dried cranberries to this salad. I do not use a blender to make the dressing, just a jar and a good shake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Absolutely OUTSTANDING. I too made some changes, but loved it and my wife drooled over it. I used Balsamic Vinegar and didn't have Celery seed so used sesame instead. Will most defiately be making again. Would rate this as a 10 if it were available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ute Park, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Swansboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
My gang loves spinach and salad so this was great for us. Other than using baby spinach leaves, I didn't change a thing. This recipe is also good with the hot bacon dressing which is on this site. Yum, and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
Excellent recipe! I made it easy by using, pre-washed and bagged baby spinach, pre sliced mushrooms, and pre-cooked bacon. The dressing was excellent and the hit of the party I took it to. Everyone wanted the recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
Don't look for other recipes. This is the one you were searching for! The dressing is excellent, although a drop sweet. I skipped the bacon. Used scallions instead of onion. Quick and easy to prepare and certain to be finished in one meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
Loved it, this is my kinda salad! I used red onion, and cut the sugar amount in the dressing to maybe 3/4 tsp. (I cut the recipe down to 1 serving). I will make this again, and share with my 11 year old, who LOVES spinach as well. Thanks Dee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States