Bermuda Fish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
I am a Bermudian and I have tried this recipe many times. I believe that you have to add your own amounts of seasoning when making fish chowder - to suit your personal taste - this recipe is the PERFECT start!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
This is a good start. I looked at a few other recipes and tried to make it taste like what I had in Bermuda so I made a couple of changes, I added a dash of nutmeg, allspice, cayenne pepper, thyme, one clove, 2 tbsp of dark rum, 4 tbsp of sherry pepper sauce, and Walleye for the fish because I have a freezer full of it. Turned out great and smells so good when it's cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
I have made this several times and have made a few changes . I added a few more spices, cayenne, dash nutmeg, tumeric, cumin, dash cinnamon, ginger and coriander. Ok, more than a few. The nutmeng, cumin and cinnamon especially give the flavour an exotic lift. No one can quite figure out the undertones but they love it. Just a little of everything is all it takes. Not too heavy or it is overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crogirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
Wow, this was an even bigger hit than I expected. The store was out of clam juice, so I used 3 cans of clams packed in clam juice, and added a cup of water. The clams made the chowder nice and meaty. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
This soup is spectacular and very easy. I used chicken broth in lieu of the clam juice and also added a can of corn. I wanted a recipe for striped bass and this was perfect. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Excellent!! I did make a few personalizations ... added canned baby clams, added a habenero instead of a jalapeno, and also added 1/2 cup of dark rum and 1 lb of jumbo prawns. The soup was good right after preparing, but was fantastic the next day!!! I am currently making another batch to freeze and have ready for a last minute thaw and serve dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gypsiestable

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This recipe was great. I cooked it exactly according to the recipe, but since I had just under a pound of cod, I added some canned clams when I added the fish. It was really good. Just enough zing, but not too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
This was a pleasant surprise. I really liked the flavor and it was nice to have such a fresh tasting fish soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I had to make do with the ingredients I had on hand, and I didn't have enough clam juice. I made up the difference with chicken broth. I think it would have been much better if I had had enough juice. I did add extra seafood though (bar clams, scallops, crab, shrimp) and used tilapia instead of snapper, since I didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2000
This is an excellent recipe. My husband and parents love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States